Steve Arpin takes historic maiden win at Daytona

Credit: Louis Yio

Chip Ganassi Racing became the first team in the history of Daytona International Speedway to win NASCAR, sports car, and rallycross races at the iconic Florida facility by claiming a one-two finish in the first event of the Red Bull Global Rallycross double header at the track as the championship leaders hit trouble.

Reigning champion Scott Speed, who missed qualifying due to a fire earlier on in the weekend, led early on before being passed by Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross team mate Tanner Foust, who had won a rain delayed semi final B.

Speed would reclaim the top spot later in the final as Foust spun, taking out Patrik Sandell, the only other driver to win a race in 2016.

Speed’s win was far from secure though as for the second time in as many days, the former-Formula One driver’s Beetle again became engulfed in flames.

That allowed Steve Arpin to follow up his semi final A win to take his first ever Red Bull GRC victory. Team mate Brian Deegan followed him home with the Olsbergs Honda duo of Sebastian Eriksson and Joni Wiman finishing third and fourth.

Jeff Ward, returning to the scene of his Red Bull GRC début a year ago, completed the top five, ahead of 2014 Daytona winner Rhys Millen.

Speed was classified seventh, ahead of Sandell, Foust, and Austin Dyne. Sebastian Saavedra was the only driver who failed to make it to the final.

In GRC Lites, defending champion Oliver Eriksson took his second consecutive win ahead of Tanner Whitten and Colin Braun who took CORE Autosport‘s first ever Red Bull GRC podium finish in their very first event.