Raucci Claims Maiden Win after Prema Team Mates Collide

Giuliano Raucci (Diegi Motorsport,Tatuus F.4 T014 Abarth #12)

Race two at Mugello was delayed after a start line pile up brought out the red flag. When the race was eventually rerun, Giuliano Raucci snatched victory in a tense encounter. Meanwhile further incidents saw the Italian F4 Championship thrown further into the lime light.

As the original race got underway, Joao Vieira stalled on the grid. Having started towards the front, he had to sit tight as the field streamed past him. Sadly for the Brazilian, it did not end well as the back row collected him.

The incident, saw Jaden Conwright smash into the back of Vieira having been unsighted to the car in front, Swiss driver Giacomo Bianchi and Mariano Lavigna were caught up in the incident and a red flagged was issued. The debris was cleared, but with a busy schedule, the race was delayed two hours.

On the restart polesitter Juan Manuel Correa lead off the line, Prema Powerteam had dominated the weekend and looked on course for another one-two finish.

Mick Schumacher, who had started second, seemed to have the run on his American team mate, making the lunge into turn one of the second lap. Correa shut the door, but the German was not prepared to back down.

Schumacher touched the back of Correa and lost control; the German was forced to retire with the resutling damage. The American managed to recover, but was demoted to the back of the grid, he finished sixteenth.

This left Raucci in the lead, as he extended his lead over second place Diego Bertonelli. The Italian was in a race long squabble with Juri Vips, but eventually came out on top. The result still handed Vips the rookie win and salvaged some respect from the Prema squad.

A safety car was later called as rookie Antolín González beached the car in the gravel. With minimal time left, the rest of the race was red flagged, handing the win to Raucci.

It was the Brazilian’s first win of the season and makes up for a lacklustre campaign with Prema last season. Bertonelli and Vips claimed their second podium of the season as Raul Guzman completed the top four.

Behind them, the on form Devlin DeFrancesco took fifth from Sebastian Fernandez and Ye Yifei. Championship leader Marcos Siebert rounded out the top eight in what was a poor race for the Argentine.