4 Hours of Spa: Lapierre on pole for DragonSpeed

by Daniel Lloyd

DragonSpeed will start tomorrow’s European Le Mans Series round at Spa from the front of the grid after Nicolas Lapierre set the fastest lap of qualifying.

A 2:06.603s lap by Lapierre gave the American squad its second pole position of the year, with the first coming at the 4 Hours of Imola in May.

Lapierre was comfortably the quickest driver during Saturday’s 15 minute LMP2 qualifying session, taking the top spot by almost half a second.

The Frenchman will share the stars and stripes ORECA-Nissan 05 with Henrik Hedman and Ben Hanley during the four hour contest.

The front row of the grid will be an all-ORECA 05 affair, with Mathias Beche’s 2:07.048s time placing the Thiriet by TDS entry second.

Harry Tincknell qualified third in the G-Drive Racing Gibson 015S, marginally ahead of Tristan Gommendy in the Eurasia Motorsport ORECA 05.

Completing the top five was Andrea Pizzitola in the Algarve Pro Racing Ligier JSP2.

The guesting WRT Ligier, entered by the former Spa 24 Hours winning team, qualified eighth in the hands of Laurens Vanthoor.

4 Hours of Spa Qualifying Results

In LMP3, Graff notched up its first pole position of the year thanks to a quick lap by Enzo Guibbert. The Frenchman turned in a 2:14.392s marker on his fifth tour to eclipse Matt Bell’s United Autosports Ligier by 0.064 seconds.

Nigel Moore will start from third on the class grid in the Tockwith Motorsports entry, with Alex Brundle lining up next to him in the sister United car.

LMGTE pole was taken by Alessandro Pier Guidi, driving the AT Racing Ferrari 458 Italia.

The result means LMGTE has seen five different pole sitters in the last five races.

Pier Guidi’s 2:17.038s effort gave him a 0.336 second advantage over Matteo Cairoli in the first of the Proton Competition Porsche 911s. The AT Racing squad, featuring Alexander Talkanitsa Sr, Jr and Pier Guidi, is still searching for its first win of the season after three podium finishes early in the year.

Third in class was Matt Griffin, who set a time of 2:17.707s aboard the AF Corse Ferrari 458.

Joining Griffin on tomorrow’s front row will be Andrea Bertolini in the championship leading JMW Motorsport Ferrari.

The 4 Hours of Spa will get underway at 14:00 local time.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More