Lone Star Le Mans: Corvettes to the fore in second practice

The #31 Action Express Corvette driven by Dane Cameron set the fastest lap of the second practice session ahead of Saturday’s IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar Championship race in Austin.

Daytona Prototypes were once again dominant at the head of the field, with Action Express, Visit Florida Racing and Wayne Taylor Racing cementing a 1-2-3 for the Corvette-engined machines.

Cameron’s time of 1:58.139s heralded a 0.674s improvement on the benchmark set by Joao Barbosa during the morning session.

Second quickest was Jordan Taylor in the WTR Corvette with a 1:58.755.

That put Taylor 0.616 seconds down on Cameron’s pace, but was enough to edge out Ryan Dalziel in the Visit Florida Corvette by 0.030 seconds.

Fourth overall and best of the LMP2 entries was Oswaldo Negri Jr, piloting the Michael Shank Racing Ligier-Honda JSP2.

Negri’s 1:59.093s effort placed him marginally ahead of the returning DeltaWing and the #55 Mazda which experienced problems during first practice.

In GT Le Mans, Richard Westbrook topped the field with a 2:04.107s marker aboard the #67 Ford GT.

That was enough to take the fastest lap of the day, after Dirk Mueller in the sister Ford set a 2:04.638s lap during the morning.

Westbrook’s effort ensured a 0.403 second gap to the second placed Risi Competizione Ferrari 488 piloted by Giancarlo Fisichella. Third and fourth quickest were the two Porsche 911 RSRs, while the #66 Ford completed the top five.

Prototype Challenge saw Richard Bradley lead the way for Starworks Motorsport, with the British driver clocking a 2:01.367 aboard the #88 ORECA FLM-09.

Second in class was Tom Kimber-Smith in the PR/1 Mathiasen Motorsports entry, who finished 0.135 seconds down.

The GT Daytona class was again a mixed bag, with Marcus Palttala’s 2:08.174s effort in the Turner Motorsport BMW M6 enough to beat the points leading Scuderia Corsa Ferrari and the Dream Racing Lamborghini Huracan.

Qualifying for the penultimate round of the IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar Championship takes place on Friday, September 16 at 16:45 local time.