Russell beats Ilott to take Macau Pole Position

George Russell - Credit: GCS

A stunning lap from George Russell towards the end of another red flagged affected qualifying session on Friday gave the Briton pole position for the qualifying race of the Macau Grand Prix.

The Hitech GP driver, on his first appearance at the legendary event, took top spot with a best lap of 2:10.100, and Russell will lead an all-Briton front row ahead of Callum Ilott.

Ilott had looked on course for pole position as he led the way before the session restarted following two quick-fire stoppages due to crashes for Daiki Sasaki at Maternity Bend and Maximilian Günther exiting the final corner, only to see Russell usurp the Van Amersfoort Racing driver.

Antonio Felix da Costa, who had held provisional pole position after first qualifying on Thursday, improved his time but could do no better than third, with the Carlin driver being joined on the second row by team-mate Sergio Sette Câmara.

Kenta Yamashita was fifth fastest for ThreeBond with T-Sport, continuing his good form this week, while Jake Hughes was one of those unfortunate to see the red flags fly for a third time when Arjun Maini crashed at Lisboa, as the Carlin driver had set the best first sector of anyone before being forced to abort his lap.

Despite crashing, Günther ended up seventh and the best of the SJM Theodore Racing by Prema drivers, with double race winner Felix Rosenqvist unable to better eighth, and having locked heavily up on his final run heading into Lisboa.

Lando Norris had been on the pace for much of the session but ended up ninth in the fourth Carlin entry, while Nick Cassidy completed the top ten in the third Prema entry ahead of Daniel Juncadella and Alexander Sims.

Macau Grand Prix Qualifying 2 Result

18George RussellGBRHitech GP2:10.100
220Callum IlottGBRVan Amersfoort Racing2:10.470
329Antonio Felix da CostaPORCarlin2:10.501
427Sergio Sette CamaraBRZCarlin2:10.716
511Kenta YamashitaJAPThreeBond with T-Sport2:10.731
628Jake HughesGBRCarlin2:10.776
72Maximilian GuntherGERSJM Theodore Racing by Prema2:10.996
81Felix RosenqvistSWESJM Theodore Racing by Prema2:11.054
926Lando NorrisGBRCarlin2:11.067
103Nick CassidyNZLSJM Theodore Racing by Prema2:11.341
119Daniel JuncadellaESPHitech GP2:11.470
1230Alexander SimsGBRDouble R Racing2:11.597
1331Daniel TicktumGBRDouble R Racing2:11.674
1421Anthoine HubertFRAVan Amersfoort Racing2:11.751
1523David BeckmannGERMucke Motorsport2:11.775
1632Sam MacLeodGBRFortec Motorsport2:11.799
1717Arjun MainiINDMotopark2:11.871
1810Nikita MazepinRUSHitech GP2:11.987
1916Joel ErikssonSWEMotopark2:12.455
2018Guanyu ZhouCHNMotopark2:12.465
2122Pedro PiquetBRZVan Amersfoort Racing2:12.609
2219Tadasuke MakinoJAPToda Racing2:12.838
2333Ferdinand HabsburgAUTFortec Motorsport2:12.879
2412Wing Chung ChangMACThreeBond with T-Sport2:12.897
255Jann MardenboroughGBRB-Max Racing Team2:13.673
266Daiki SasakiJAPB-Max Racing Team2:13.772
277Hongli YeCHNB-Max Racing Team2:14.012
2825Keyvan AndresGERMucke Motorsport2:14.803
2915Sho TsuboiJAPTeam TOM's2:14.868