Supercup Stars To Make Ginetta G57 Debuts In VdeV Estoril

by Simon Paice

Ginetta GT4 Supercup stars Century Motorsport and Ben Green will join forces as they make their Ginetta prototype racing debuts this weekend in the 2016 VdeV Endurance Championship finale at Estoril.

2015 Supercup champions Century will run a single Ginetta G57-P2, with Green joined in the driving line up by Porsche Carrera Cup Pro-Am 1 champion Euan McKay and Dutch racer Rik Breukers.

For Green it will mark the next step in his rapid progression up the Ginetta ranks, having only made his Junior debut at the start of 2015 before stepping up to the Supercup this year.

Both Green and Century team principal Nathan Freke tested a G57 for the first time during a recent customer test at Donington Park, with Century using the race as a taster ahead of a possible 2017 campaign.

“This is a fantastic time for Century Motorsport and stepping up to a new type of car is something we’ve all worked very hard to achieve,” said Freke.

“Prototype racing is becoming increasingly popular now so this is the perfect way for us to dip our toe in the water ahead of a planned increased effort for 2017.

“What makes it better is that we have three brilliant new drivers into the team, all of whom are proven racers who I have no doubt will make a big impression in Estoril this weekend.”

Green added: “It was fairly easy to get up to speed in the car at Donington and I felt comfortable pushing the cars grip limits from early on in the day.

“It’s great to be joining Century Motorsport for the race as they have a lot of Ginetta racing experience and I know are looking forward to running the new car this coming weekend!”

Reigning Ginetta GT5 Challenge champion Ollie Chadwick will also make his G57 debut meanwhile, joining experienced VdeV racers Remy Deguffroy and Jordan Sanders at Simpson Motorsport.

Another team entering a Ginetta G57 for the first time meanwhile is Neilsen Racing, with the current Radical European Masters champions running Stuart Moseley, James Winslow and Neale Muston.

Ginetta head into the finale looking set to seal the PFV class title with Lawrence Tomlinson, who will share his Simpson Motorsport machine with factory driver Mike Simpson and Darren Burke.

The only drivers who can deprive him of the title are Colin White and Charlie Robertson, who will race in CWS Recycling and Simpson Motorsport machines respectively.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More