24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans Series

United Autosports confirms Le Mans/ELMS programme for 2017

1 Mins read

United Autosports will take up its invitation to enter next year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans with a new Ligier JSP217 chassis.

The European LMP3 title-winning squad will also step up to the LMP2 class of the European Le Mans Series, in preparation for the French enduro in June 2017.

Le Mans is the next logical step for the Anglo-American team, run by chairman Zak Brown and managing director Richard Dean.

Winning the European Le Mans Series LMP3 category warrants an automatic entry to Le Mans from the Automobile Club de l’Ouest, which organises both events.

“I’m thrilled United Autosports will be able to take up the ACO’s invitation to enter the 24 Hours of Le Mans,” said Brown.

“We have committed to purchasing our own LMP2 car as it is the best way to prepare for such an important race. We are also looking at entering the 2017 ELMS too. We see it as great potential for the team and so we are working on getting a programme together and will be testing drivers in the coming weeks and months.”

Next summer’s 24 Hours of Le Mans will be the first for the Yorkshire-based outfit, which has recently moved to prototypes after running successful campaigns in GTs, touring cars and historic racing.

United Autosports is also the UK agent for French car builder Onroak Automotive, which produces a range of Ligier-badged LMP2, LMP3 and CN chassis.

“It will be great for Zak and I to bring United Autosports to the Le Mans 24 Hours,” added Dean.
“It is the most important endurance race in the world and to have our team among the grid will be a fantastic feeling. We have committed to our own Ligier JS P217 as it made perfect sense for the direction we want the team to go in. Now comes the task of putting our test programme together and finding the perfect driver line up for the car.”
Although no driver names have been put down next to the LMP2 car, United Autosports has confirmed one of its LMP3 lineups for the 2017 European season.

John Falb, Enzo Potoliccio and Sean Rayhall will switch from French outfit Graff Racing to drive a United-run Ligier JSP3.

The 2017 European Le Mans Series will begin at Silverstone with a four hour race on April 15.


Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

Delight and heartbreak for 24 Hours of Le Mans LMP2 winners Team WRT

5 Mins read
A broken throttle sensor denied Team WRT an historic LMP2 1-2 on their Le Mans debut, but still managed to secure victory in a close finish.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

24 Hours of Le Mans: Hour 24 – Lights to Flag Victory for Conway, Kobayashi and Lopez

4 Mins read
Toyota Gazoo Racing and AF Corse secured the overall and LM GTE Pro victories at the 2021 24 Hours of Le Mans with exceptional clean lights to flag dominance.
24 Hours of Le MansFIA WEC

FIA and ACO extend Accords Le Mans agreement

1 Mins read
FIA continues promotor agreement with ACO to provide stable platform for the growth of the FIA World Endurance Championship.