European Rallycross Super1600

Entries for 2017 Euro RX Season Announced – Super1600 And TouringCar

2 Mins read
Rihards Baumanis/Baumanis Motorpsort Photography

The FIA European Rallycross Championship has announced the entry list for both the Super1600 And TouringCar classes for the 2017 season with 24 permanent entries in the Super1600 class and 10 permanent entries in the TouringCar class.

There’s a nice mix of new cars being used in the series this year with Andreas Schrader driving an Audi A1 and Lars Christian Lote Rosland racing an Opel Corsa. To add to this Jimmy Terpereau is in a Citroen C2 whilst Anders Bjørland Hansen will compete in a Volkswagen Polo. Italian driver Luciano Visintin will compete in a Renault Clio.

The 2017 Euro RX Super1600 entry list has been released with 24 permanent entries confirmed. Credit: IMG / FIA World RX

With another large entry for 2017, The FIA European Super1600 Rallycross Championship has another quality entry with many of the 2016 title contenders returning to do battle once again. Ulrik Linnemann and Daniel Nielsen return in Peugeot 208’s for what is a two car entry for Linnemann Motorsport.

Volland Racing are fielding three Skoda Fabia’s for Krisztián SzaboGergely Marton and Artis Baumanis. The Skoda Fabia seems to be the car of choice with 8 entered for the year. Kasparas Navickas and Janno Ligur complete the entry of Skoda’s in the series. Siim Saluri will drive a third Renault Twingo whilst Szíjj Zsolt is a full season entry for Speedy Motorsport however the team is yet to confirm what car he will drive.

Krisztián Szabo drives for Volland Racing for the 2017 Euro RX Super1600 season. Credit: Matt Bristow

Portuguese driver Mario Barbosa is back for a full season of Euro RX in a Ford Fiesta. There is a strong Czech Republic entry in the class with Pavel VimmerZdenek KuceraJosef Susta all driving Skoda Fabia’s whilst Ondrej Smetana will campaign a Ford Fiesta and Václav Veverka will race a Peugeot 208.

Set Promotion return with a two car effort being spearheaded by Timur Shigaboutdinov and Jussi-Petteri Leppihalme, who returns to the class, will both drive Renault Twingo’s for the season. Italian team Tedak Racing will run a pair of brand new Alfa Romeo Mitos for Davide Medici and Max Vercelli.

Ben-Philip Gundersen returns to defend his 2016 Euro RX TouringCar title for 2017. Credit: IMG / FIA World RX

The 2017 FIA European Rallycross Championship for TouringCars has 10 permanent entries for the season with several new faces making their debut in the series alongside some former champions. Ben-Philip Gundersen returns to defend his 2016 title whilst 2011 champion Lars Oivind Enerberg is in the hunt to try and secure this years title. Both drivers will be in Ford Fiesta’s as will be David NordgårdAnders Nymoen Braten, and Lars Øivind Enerberg.

Philip Gehrman, who will be in the Ford Fiesta Bridgestone Motorsport entry is joined in the team by Kjetil Larsen who drives a Skoda Fabia. Per Magne Røyrås returns in his Mazda RX8 and will be joined in the team by Steinar Stokke who will drive a second Mazda during the year.

Magda Andersson has moved to the Supercar Class after challenging for the 2016 Euro RX TouringCar title in 2016. Credit: Steve White/Fueltopia

Kai Arne Homme has confirmed he will drive a Ford Focus whilst one driver to watch will be Belgian Steve Volders who makes his series debut in a Ford Fiesta under the Trommelke banner. Volders has dominated the SuperNational class in Rallycross Challenge Europe and will be looking to make an impressive start to the season.

The 2017 FIA European Rallycross Championship for TouringCars gets underway at the Euro RX of Spain held at the Barcelona Grand Prix circuit on April 1-2 whilst the The FIA European Super1600 Rallycross Championship starts at the Montalegre circuit in Portugal on April 22-23.


Related posts
British RallycrossEuropean Rallycross Super1600

Pauwels Confirms 2021 Euro RX Super 1600 Campaign

2 Mins read
16-year-old Karting star Kobe Pauwels will follow in his dad Koen Pauwels footsteps as he enters the 2021 Euro RX Super 1600 championship.
European Rallycross Super1600

Belevskiy Doubles Up in Super 1600 at Catalunya

2 Mins read
Yuri Belevskiy again took the win in the 2020 FIA European Rallycross Championship for Super 1600 in Catalunya.
European Rallycross Super1600

Belevskiy Wins Euro Super 1600 Season Opener

3 Mins read
Yuri Belevskiy took his second career win in the opening round of the 2020 FIA European Rallycross Championship for Super 1600 at Catalunya in Spain.

Leave a Reply