European Rallycross Super1600

FIA Euro RX of Portugal Super1600 Entries Announced

1 Mins read
The 2017 FIA European Rallycross Championship for Super1600 kicks off in Portugal this weekend Credit: IMG / FIA World RX

The Montalegre circuit in Portugal plays host to the first round of the 2017 FIA European Rallycross Championship for Super1600 with 30 drivers confirmed to take part.

Ulrik Linnemann is looking for his first FIA Euro RX Super1600 title in 2017. Credit: IMG / FIA World RX

With such a competitive field descending on the Portuguese circuit, the competition will be fierce as everyone will be looking to get their 2017 campaigns off to a good start. 2016 title contenders Ulrik Linnemann and Daniel Nielsen return in Peugeot 208’s for what is a two car entry for Linnemann Motorsport with Linnemann looking to secure that elusive first title.

Pre-season favourites Volland Racing are fielding three Skoda Fabia’s in 2017 for Krisztián SzaboGergely Marton and Artis Baumanis, who has moved across from the SET Promotion squad he drove for last year.

2016 FIA Euro RX Super1600 Champion Krisztián Szabo drives one of 8 Skoda’s entered for the 2017 season Credit: Matt Bristow

There is a strong Czech Republic entry in the class with Pavel VimmerZdenek KuceraJosef Susta all driving Skoda Fabia’s along with FIA Euro RX Super1600 regulars Kasparas Navickas and Janno Ligur completing the entry of eight Skoda’s in the series for 2017.

Whilst Szabo will be looking to defend his 2016 title whilst hunting for second consecutive title, SET Promotion return with a two car effort in 2017 being spearheaded by Timur Shigaboutdinov and Jussi-Petteri Leppihalme. Leppihalme, who returns to the class, will drive one of the teams Renault Twingo’s this season.

Artis Baumanis has moved from SET Promotion to Volland Racing for 2017 Credit: Rihards Baumanis/Baumanis Motorpsort Photography

Local interest will come from Mario Barbosa who has confirmed that he will drive a Ford Fiesta in the 2017 season, after campaigning a Citroen Saxo last year in the first two rounds of the series. Along with Barbosa, there are six Portuguese drivers entered for their home event in the series.

The 2017 FIA European Rallycross Championship for Super1600 also takes place alongside the 2nd round of The 2017 FIA World Rallycross Championship with both series in action on April 21-23.

Related posts
British RallycrossEuropean Rallycross Super1600

Pauwels Confirms 2021 Euro RX Super 1600 Campaign

2 Mins read
16-year-old Karting star Kobe Pauwels will follow in his dad Koen Pauwels footsteps as he enters the 2021 Euro RX Super 1600 championship.
European Rallycross Super1600

Belevskiy Doubles Up in Super 1600 at Catalunya

2 Mins read
Yuri Belevskiy again took the win in the 2020 FIA European Rallycross Championship for Super 1600 in Catalunya.
European Rallycross Super1600

Belevskiy Wins Euro Super 1600 Season Opener

3 Mins read
Yuri Belevskiy took his second career win in the opening round of the 2020 FIA European Rallycross Championship for Super 1600 at Catalunya in Spain.

Leave a Reply