Power on top as Penske and Andretti show good pace

1 Mins read
Credit: Christopher Owens / IndyCar

Will Power topped the second free practice session on Friday as drivers continued to prepare for the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, with Team Penske and Andretti Autosport drivers locking out the top six.

The Australian set the fastest time of the weekend so far with a 1:07.0800s, which meant that the Penske driver gapped the field by a notable 0.2776 seconds from Andretti Autosport’s Marco Andretti, while defending series champion Simon Pagenaud third 0.2997 seconds back, also for Penske.

Takuma Sato and Ryan Hunter-Reay ensured it was a good session all round for Andretti Autosport by finishing fourth and fifth fastest respectively, while a third Penske driver – Helio Castroneves – was sixth.

Sebastien Bourdais, the winner of the season opener at St Petersburg, was seventh fastest for Dale Coyne Racing ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon, who led the field early only to drop back as he failed to improve his time on later runs.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s JR Hildebrand ended the session ninth fastest ahead of James Hinchcliffe of Schmidt Peterson Motorsport, just ahead of Alexander Rossi and Graham Rahal.

Tony Kanaan caused a brief red flag period when he locked up at turn one and stalled after attempting a U-turn, with the Chip Ganassi Racing driver ending up thirteenth fastest, just ahead of Josef Newgarden and Carlos Muñoz, who despite being fifteenth fastest was under a second shy of Power’s pace up front.

Long Beach Free Practice 2 Result

[table id=1843 /]

Related posts

James Hinchcliffe To Return to IndyCar Full Time in 2021

2 Mins read
James Hinchcliffe has returned to IndyCar full time to pilot the fourth Andretti Autosport entry for 2021.
FeaturesFIA WECFormula 1IndyCarRally

The Porsche Story, Part 2: Racing Through Disciplines

6 Mins read
Part 2 of TheCheckeredFlag’s Porsche Story looks into the German manufacturers’ history in single seater racing and rallying.

NBC to shut down NBCSN by end of 2021, motorsports like NASCAR and IndyCar among affected

5 Mins read
NBC plans to end NBCSN before the end of 2021. Motorsports like NASCAR, IndyCar, IMSA, and MotoGP, which have races on the network, will have to look for alternatives in the NBC family like USA Network.

Leave a Reply