IOMTT: Anstey takes the Mugen to victory in TT Zero race

by Emily Macbeth

Bruce Anstey was drafted into the Mugen squad as a replacement for John McGuinness who was ruled out of the TT after injuries sustained at the Northwest 200. Anstey has raced for Mugen since 2014, and is the reigning TT Zero champion.

The schedule was already revised and the TT Zero race moved to today due to bad weather conditions, but a further hour delay was added on this morning as Clerk of the Course Gary Thompson declared there were damp patches scattered around the course.

He was first off the line and led on the roads for the entirety of the race, with his team mate Guy Martin safely sitting in second. Anstey had a 10 second gap on Martin by the time they’d reached Glen Helen, and it was plain sailing from there for the Mugen Shinden pair.

Anstey’s lead constantly increased from his team mate, ending the one lap race with a staggering 41 second lead over Martin. Daley Mathison rounded out the podium, a further 13.7 seconds down on Martin.

SES TT Zero race results:

  1. Bruce Anstey – Mugen
  2. Guy Martin – Mugen
  3. Daley Mathison – University of Nottingham
  4. Dean Harrison – Sarolea
  5. Antonio Maeso – University of Nottingham
  6. James Cowton – Brunel Racing TT Zero
  7. Adam Child – MCN Moto Corsa
  8. Matthew Rees – University of Bath

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More