Montaplast by Land-Motorsport Trio take GT Daytona Honours at Road Atlanta

1 Mins read
Credit: Richard Dole LAT Images, Courtesy of IMSA

The GT Daytona class honours at the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season finale at Road Atlanta went the way of the #29 Montaplast by Land-Motorsport Audi R8 LMS trio of Connor de Phillippi, Christopher Mies and Sheldon van der Linde, with each driver taking their first victory in the championship.

The team only made three appearances all season long, taking part in the two endurance events at the beginning of the season at Daytona and Sebring, before coming to the Motul Petit Le Mans finale.

The team were embroiled in a close race throughout the ten-hour event, but eventually came through for the victory by 15.518 seconds from the #28 Alegra Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R of Michael Christensen, Michael de Quesada and Daniel Morad.

For Mies, it was a good response to come back into the championship and makes amends for their Daytona result, which saw them come close to victory but ultimately settle for second.

“Having been so close to winning at Daytona makes this an even more unbelievable feeling,” said Mies. “I’m very proud of the entire team. The racing was really tough, but the team gave us a perfect strategy.” 

De Phillippi also admitted that the failure to win in Daytona left a sour taste in their mouths, so it was good to put it all together to win at Road Atlanta and end the season on a high.

“We almost got our first win at Daytona,” said De Phillippi on “We left there with a very sour taste in our mouth because we knew it was right in front of us.

“We recovered, we did some homework. We improved in some areas we knew we needed to after the first two rounds and we came here and gave it all we had.”

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansIMSA

Porsche RSR set for return to IMSA as Proton Competition enter series

2 Mins read
MacNeil, Lietz, Estre and Bruni lead Proton Competition’s IMSA entry as the Porsche 911 RSR returns to American race tracks.

Austin Dillon, Salih Yoluc join RWR Eurasia and Cody Ware for 2021 Rolex 24

2 Mins read
2018 Daytona 500 winner Austin Dillon and reigning 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Salih Yoluç will join 2019 Asian Le Mans champion Cody Ware in the RWR Eurasia entry for the 2021 Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona.

Chase Elliott joins Action Express for Rolex 24 debut alongside Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, Felipe Nasr

2 Mins read
Reigning NASCAR Cup champion Chase Elliott will make his Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona début for Action Express Racing, sharing the #31 Cadillac DPi-V.R with Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, and Felipe Nasr.

Leave a Reply