Senna Disappointed with Stewards after Petit Le Mans Penalty

1 Mins read
Credit: Jake Galstad LAT Images, Courtesy of IMSA

Bruno Senna was disappointed with the stewards following their decision to penalise the #22 Tequila Patrón ESM Nissan DPi close to the end of the Motul Petit Le Mans last weekend, ending their chances of taking victory at Road Atlanta.

The Brazilian partnered Johannes van Overbeek and Luis Felipe Derani last weekend, and the #22 led 152 laps before the stewards penalised them with a drive-through penalty for forcing the #67 Ford GT of Ryan Briscoe off track with Derani behind the wheel after a restart with less than half an hour of the ten-hour endurance event remaining.

Senna was critical of the decision to restart the race with GT cars ahead of the Prototypes, especially when there were five cars fighting for overall victory at Road Atlanta, with the drive-through penalty relegating the #22 from the lead down to fourth at the chequered flag.

“I’m very disappointed with the decision of the officials,” said Senna. “It’s racing, and we’re fighting for the win.

“They decided to start the prototypes behind the GT cars. There are five cars fighting for the win, and contact was made. Our drive through was not deserved. They took our race.

“I’m disappointed for the crew. We drove a perfect race.”

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansIMSA

Porsche RSR set for return to IMSA as Proton Competition enter series

2 Mins read
MacNeil, Lietz, Estre and Bruni lead Proton Competition’s IMSA entry as the Porsche 911 RSR returns to American race tracks.

Austin Dillon, Salih Yoluc join RWR Eurasia and Cody Ware for 2021 Rolex 24

2 Mins read
2018 Daytona 500 winner Austin Dillon and reigning 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Salih Yoluç will join 2019 Asian Le Mans champion Cody Ware in the RWR Eurasia entry for the 2021 Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona.

Chase Elliott joins Action Express for Rolex 24 debut alongside Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, Felipe Nasr

2 Mins read
Reigning NASCAR Cup champion Chase Elliott will make his Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona début for Action Express Racing, sharing the #31 Cadillac DPi-V.R with Mike Conway, Pipo Derani, and Felipe Nasr.

Leave a Reply