Formula E

Formula E does u-turn on qualifying draw

1 Mins read
Credit: Formula E

Formula E will no longer use the much disliked lottery system when deciding qualifying groups for drivers.

A change had been mooted earlier in the year, but it was believed that organisers chose to stick with the current system – where drivers draw lots to decide which of four qualifying groups they will go out in.

The lottery had drawn derision from drivers who would often lose out at random by being drawn in an earlier group, when the track was at a lower temperature and less rubbered in.

The first qualifying session in Hong Kong this weekend will still use the old system, before groups then being decided by championship order.

Whoever is first to fifth in the driver’s standings will go out in Group A, with sixth to tenth going out in Group B, eleventh to fifteenth in Group C, and the last five drivers in the championship going out in Group D.

A driver will then be picked at random to decide which order the groups will go out in.

The system will ensure that rivals in the championship go out at the same time, and eliminate the chances of one driver gaining an unfair advantage by being drawn in a later group than a rival.

Reigning champion Lucas di Grassi was one of the drivers who was most critical of the previous system, telling Autosport, “I don’t like the system – I was really unfavoured in season one and two in London, and I was favoured in season three.

“You cannot let this stuff [come down] to luck. It would be very good to put the drivers in the championship in the same group.”

679 posts

About author
Formula E writer for TCF since 2015-16 and fascinated by all things electric.
Related posts
Formula E

Rowland Fastest in Opening Diriyah Practice as Defending Champion de Vries Crashes

2 Mins read
Oliver Rowland was quickest in practice for the Diriyah E-Prix on Thursday, while defending champion Nyck de Vries ended in the wall early on.
Formula E

Norman Nato, Tom Dillmann Announced as Jaguar TCS Racing as Reserve Drivers

2 Mins read
Jaguar TCS Racing will have two reserve drivers for the 2021/22 Formula E season, with Tom Dillmann being joined by Norman Nato.
Formula E

Porsche Taycan Unveiled as New Safety Car for Season Eight of FIA Formula E

1 Mins read
The new Formula E safety car has been revealed as the Porsche Taycan Turbo S, which will begin its duties in the Diriyah E-Prix later this month.