General Formula 3

Asian F3 to Have 5 Rounds in 2 Countries

1 Mins read
Credit: Marcel Langer / FIA WEC

Along with the recent announcement of the F3 Asian Championship, a calendar was also announced, with the series, run by Top Speed and the FIA featuring fifteen races at five rounds, one less than its partner Regional series; F3 Americas Championship.

While it will hope to gain traction in all of East Asia, the five rounds will only take the drivers to two different countries over a period of five months.

The season starts in Malaysia at the Sepang International Circuit, where the official pre-season test will take place on the 9-10 July. Teams and drivers will stay in the country for the opening round that weekend on the 13-15th.

After a month and a half break, they will reconvene in China at the newly built Ningbo International Speedway in China on the first weekend of September. On the 21-23 they will race at the Shanghai International Circuit before returning to Ningbo on October 12-14.

Finally, the series will end where it started at the Sepang circuit on November 23-25.

The FIA support means the championship will also provide Super Licence Points, with ItaliaRacing reporting that 18 drivers have expressed interest in the series. The site also rumouring that they will use Tatuus (as seen in the Formula Masters Series that Top Speed own) and Autotecnica as their chassis and engine respectively.

[table id=2737 /]

Credit: Nick Smith /
1347 posts

About author
Single-Seater Specialist who worked for TCF from 2015-19. Come finding me wandering the paddock.
Related posts
General Formula 3

Schumacher joins Charouz as Kari heads up trio of drivers

2 Mins read
Charouz have assembled their trio of drivers for the 2020 FIA Formula 3 season
General Formula 3Season Review

SEASON REVIEW: 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship - Supreme Shwartzman

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back on the inaugural 2019 FIA Formula 3 Championship which saw Robert Shwartzman crowned champion.
Formula 3General Formula 3

Fernández makes ART F3 switch

1 Mins read
Spaniard Sebastián Fernández will complete ART Grand Prix’s driver line up for the 2020 FIA Formula 3 season after completing a move from Campos Racing.