Alon Takes Maiden Overall IMSA Pole at Road America

2 Mins read
Motul Pole Award winner #85 JDC/Miller Motorsports ORECA 07, P: Robert Alon
Credit: LAT - Michael L. Levitt

Robert Alon knows what it feels like to win a Motul Pole Award in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, as he had won four poles in the Prototype Challenge (PC) class.

But the feeling was a little different on Saturday afternoon at Road America, where Alon shattered Ricky Taylor’s year-old track record to take the Motul Pole Award for Sunday’s two-hour, 40-minute Continental Tire Road Race Showcase. Alon’s best lap was 1m:51.933s (130.191 mph) in the #85 JDC-Miller Motorsports ORECA 07 LMP2, which was more than a second quicker than Taylor’s 2017 record pole-winning time of 1m:53.058s.

It was the third consecutive Prototype pole position for an ORECA LMP2 car, as Colin Braun drove the similar #54 CORE autosport ORECA to Motul Pole Awards for last month’s Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen and the Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

“I have to give it to the engineer,” Alon said. “He called it. We knew tire ‘deg’ (degradation) was going to be pretty bad, so we kind of set up the car for the first couple of laps. We knew those were going to be the best tires, grip-wise. He told me to go out and do my thing for the first two laps, and it seemed like the car just did the work. It was a great setup.

“I just let the car do the work, and it was just all there. It really helps confidence a lot. We started out the year really struggling. It’s tough to keep pushing and pushing when you don’t see the results. We were starting to build moment, and we’re starting to show our speed now. It’s an excellent confidence booster.”

A year after taking the pole, Taylor settled for second on the Road America grid with a best lap of 1:52.140 (129.951 mph) in the #7 Acura Team Penske ARX-05 Daytona Prototype international (DPi) car. Taylor and co-driver Helio Castroneves look for their second victory of the season on Sunday.

The same applies to Braun, who qualified third in the #54 at 1m:52.340s (129.720 mph), and his co-driver, Jon Bennett. Braun and Bennett were the most recent Prototype class winners, triumphing last month at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

Renger van der Zande put the #10 Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.R he shares with Jordan Taylor fourth on the Prototype grid at 1m:52.430s (129.616 mph). Juan Pablo Montoya rounded out the top five at 1m:52.780s (129.214 mph) in the #6 Acura DPi. Montoya’s co-driver is Dane Cameron, who has won in three of his past four WeatherTech Championship races at Road America.

Qualifying Results
Related posts
Historic RacingIMSANASCAR

HSR launches NASCAR Classic historic series

2 Mins read
Historic Sportscar Racing has created the NASCAR Classic presented by Petty’s Garage for stock cars before the current generation. It will début at IMSA’s Virginia International Raceway round in August.

Meyer Shank returns to IMSA in 2025 with Acura

1 Mins read
Meyer Shank Racing has signed a multi-year agreement to run two factory Acura ARX-06 LMDh cars in IMSA alongside HRC US

#7 Porsche Penske victorious in rain soaked 6 Hours of the Glen

3 Mins read
The #7 Porsche Penske 963 won the rain soaked 6 Hours of the Glen last night, becoming the first team to take a double overall win of the season.