Sellers completes RLL Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy team

by Nathan Hine
Bryan Sellers, Lamborghini Huracan GT3, 2017 Long Beach

Sports Car racing ace Bryan Sellers will join Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing to complete its driver line-up for the 2018/19 Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy alongside Katherine Legge for the debut season of the ten-race global series.

The Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy will run as a support series to the ABB FIA Formula E Championship and become the world’s first production battery electric vehicle racing championship. The ten-race series will take place at the same venues as the Formula E racing series next season, starting at Riyadh in December.

Sellers is best-known from his efforts in North American GT Sports car racing; winning the 2013 Petit Le Mans Series  with Wolf Henzler and Nick Tandy. He is currently competing the IMSA WeatherTech and SportsCar Championship, driving a Lamborghini Huracan GT3 for Team Paul Miller Racing, where he leads the classification in GT-Daytona with two wins this season.

“I am very proud to be part of the Rahal Letterman Lanigan program in the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY,” said Sellars.  “I grew up in Ohio and watched Bobby (Rahal) win races and set up an incredible racing program, so it’ll be great to finally see it from the inside.

“Electric cars are clearly the way forward, and being involved in the first electric touring car series means a lot to me,” Sellers continues. “Doing this with such a legendary brand as Jaguar makes it a very special one, and I’m also looking forward to working with Katherine, we had a great relationship over the years, and it will be great to finally work with her, instead of fighting head over heels, I’m very grateful to everyone at RLL and Jaguar for giving me this opportunity.”

Bobby Rahal added: “I’ve known Bryan for some time and I’m impressed with his ability and approach – the demands of this series will of course be speed, but more in the experience.” There will not be much training time, and There are other exceptional limitations, so experience, maturity, and pace are very important qualities I’ve been looking for when choosing our drivers, and Bryan will be a great asset to our program. “

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More