European Le Mans Series

Nicolas Jamin gives Duqueine Engineering Pole for Portimao Finale

2 Mins read
Duqueine Engineering - 4 Hours of Portimao
Credit: European Le Mans Series

Duqueine Engineering secured the final pole position of the 2018 European Le Mans Series season on Saturday, with Nicolas Jamin giving the #29 Oreca top spot for the Four Hours of Portimao with a best lap of 1:33.197.

Lucas Légeret secured pole position in the LMP3 class for the #19 M Racing YMR Norma squad, while the #66 JMW Motorsport Ferrari of Miguel Molina took top spot in the LM GTE class.


Nicolas Jamin, who shares the #29 Oreca with fellow Frenchmen Nelson Panciatici and Pierre Ragues, left it late to take the first pole position of the season for the Duqueine Engineering team, with the #23 Panis Barthez Competition Ligier of Will Stevens, Timothé Buret and Julien Canal just 0.060 seconds behind.

For a long time, it appeared that Filipe Albuquerque was going to take pole in his home race for United Autosports, but the #22 Ligier he shares with Phil Hanson fell to third in the closing moments, first behind the #23 and then finally by the #29.

The #28 IDEC Sport Oreca of Paul-Loup Chatin, Memo Rojas and Gabriel Aubry were fourth fastest, just over half a second off the pole time, while the #26 G-Drive Racing Oreca of Jean-Eric Vergne, Roman Rusinov and Andrea Pizzitola ended fifth.

M Racing YMR - 4 Hours of Portimao

M Racing YMR took LMP3 pole in Portugal – Credit: European Le Mans Series


It was a Norma 1-2 in the LMP3 class, with the #19 M Racing YMR trio of Lucas Légeret, David Droux and Michael Benham hitting the front with a lap of 1:40.715, just 0.061 seconds clear of the #17 Ultimate entry of Mathieu Lahaye, Jean-Baptiste Lahaye and François Heriau.

The #9 AT Racing Ligier of Alexander Talkanitsa, Alexander Talkanitsa Jr. and Mikkel Jensen ended third fastest, 0.284 seconds away from Légeret’s pole time, with the #8 DKR Engineering Norma of Christian Vaglio, Marvin Klein and Nicolas Maulini ending fourth ahead of the #5 United Autosports Ligier of John Falb and Scott Andrews.

In the championship battle, the #15 RLR M Sport Ligier of leaders Job Van Uitert, John Farano and Robert Garofell will start seventh, while their rivals for the crown, the #6 360 Racing Ligier and the #3 United Autosports Ligier will start tenth and fifteenth respectively.

There was one red flag during the session when the #11 EuroInternational Ligier of Giorgio Mondini spun into the turn five gravel trap with just under three and a half minutes remaining, but when the session resumed no one was able to improve their times, leaving the #19 to take pole position for the season finale.


Miguel Molina’s final lap just as the chequered flag fell gave the #66 JMW Motorsport Ferrari the LM GTE pole position at Portimao, with the Spaniard denying the #77 Proton Engineering Porsche top spot by just over three-tenths of a second.

Molina, who shares the car with Liam Griffin and Alex MacDowell, ensured the point for pole position went the way of JMW as they bid to deny the #88 Proton Engineering Porsche the title this weekend, with now just ten and a half points separating the two teams.

The #77 of Denis Olsen, Marvin Dienst and Christian Ried also found themselves ahead of the sister #88 of Matteo Cairoli, Giorgio Roda and Gianluca Roda, although Cairoli had his fastest time deleted for exceeding track limits at turn fifteen.

The #55 Spirit of Race Ferrari of Matthew Griffin, Duncan Cameron and Aaron Scott ended fourth fastest ahead of the #80 EbiMotors Porsche of Fabio Babini, Riccardo Pera and Bret Curtis and the #83 Krohn Racing Ferrari of Tracy Krohn, Niclas Jönsson and Andrea Bertolini.

JMW Motorsport celebrated LM GTE pole in Portimao – Credit: European Le Mans Series

13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
Asian Le Mans SeriesEuropean Le Mans SeriesFIA WECFormula 3Formula E

NEOM McLaren Confirm Charlie Eastwood and Luke Browning for Formula E Rookie Test

2 Mins read
Endurance driver Charlie Eastwood and F3 driver Luke Browning have been announced as NEOM McLaren’s duo for the Berlin rookie test.
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans Series

Conclusion of ELMS Season Confirms Six Automatic Invitations to 2023 24 Hours of Le Mans

1 Mins read
Six teams confirmed themselves in the automatic invitation places for next seasons 24 Hours of Le Mans following the conclusion to the 2022 European Le Mans Series season on Sunday.
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFIA WEC

Michael Fassbender set for 24 Hours of Le Mans debut

1 Mins read
Hollywood star Michael Fassbender set to make 24 Hours of Le Mans Debut with Proton Competition in their Porsche 911 RSR.