Duval and Wittmann Top Misano DTM Practice as Punctures Mar Opening Session

1 Mins read
Credit: DTM Media

Audi’s Loïc Duval was fastest in the opening DTM Series practice session at Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli with BMW‘s Marco Wittmann quickest in the second session of the day.

Wittmann’s time in the second session, was almost a second faster than Duval’s from the first.

Audi drivers largely set the pace in first free practice with Duval followed by his team-mates: René Rast, Nico Müller, Jonathan Aberdein, Mike Rockenfeller and Robin Frijns trailing the Frenchman.

However, it was not all plain-sailing for the Ingolstadt manufacturer as four of its drivers incurred punctures on the left-hand side of their cars.

Following the session an inspection of the track revealed that loose screws from kerbs in Turn 6 and 16 had caused the issues – these kerbs were removed ahead of the second session.

There were more issues for DTM newcomers R-Motorsport Aston Martin as Ferdinand Habsburg only completed one lap before being sidelined by gearbox issues.

Having been the lead BMW in the opening practice session, Wittmann carried his pace over into the second session to claim the fastest time of the day.

The German, was just under three tenths of a second faster than Audi’s Robin Frijns. Zolder race winners Philipp Eng and Rast were third and fourth.

MotoGP rider Andrea Dovizioso ended up in sixteenth in both sessions of the day.

Originally, Pietro Fittipaldi was set to miss the weekend to be at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, with Dovizioso replacing him, but races in the DTM this weekend in place of Jamie Green who was hospitalised with appendicitis.

662 posts

About author
An NCTJ accredited Journalism Graduate covering DTM and the FIA Formula 3 Championship.
Related posts
DTMFormula E

Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY Champion and Reigning DTM Champion to test for Jaguar

3 Mins read
Jaguar have announced that Simon Evans and reigning DTM Champion Sheldon van der Linde will complete Monday’s Rookie Test for the team.
DTMFormula EFormula Regional European Championship

ABT CUPRA to run Reigning ETCR Champion and ADAC Youngster in Rookie Test

2 Mins read
Reigning ETCR Champion Adrien Tambay and FREC driver Tim Tramnitz will drive for ABT CUPRA next Monday in the Formula E Rookie Test
DTMFormula E

Kelvin van der Linde to replace Robin Frijns for foreseeable future

3 Mins read
ABT DTM driver Kelvin van der Linde has been confirmed as Robin Frijns’ replacement at next weekend’s Diriyah E-Prix, with the Dutchman ruled out for potentially the bulk of the season.