Stadium SUPER Trucks

Gavin Harlien holds off Brabham for SST Race 2 win in Toronto

2 Mins read
Credit: Stadium Super Trucks

Sunday’s Stadium Super Trucks race at Honda Indy Toronto saw Gavin Harlien claim his first win of 2019 after holding off a late charge by points leader Matt Brabham.

Ryan Eversley, who finished at the back in Saturday’s race after battling with a steering pump issue, started first ahead of Bill Hynes. Saturday winner Cole Potts started seventh, with Robby Gordon and Brabham behind him.

Eversley led most of the opening lap before Hynes passed him shortly before lap two began. Harlien subsequently took second as the top four of Hynes, Harlien, Eversley, and Casey Mears formed a separate pack from the field.

On lap three, Harlien cleared Hynes for first. As the groups started to bunch back together a lap later, Eversley missed a jump for safety reasons and was not penalised as he did not gain an advantage nor pass any competitors. The same occurred on lap five, this time also costing Eversley two spots to Potts and Brabham.

The competition caution came out during the fifth lap, with Harlien leasing Hynes, Mears, Potts, Brabham, Eversley, Jeff Hoffman, Gordon, and Russell Boyle. Harlien maintained his lead at the green flag on lap six.

Early into the restart, Hoffman clipped Gordon who continued on, but Boyle capitalised to pass the former; Hoffman would eventually lose part of his hood after contact. With a loose-handling truck, Potts slid by Mears to claim third. On lap seven, he passed Hynes for second after the latter locked his brakes entering a corner.

Brabham took third position from Hynes on lap nine; Hynes continued to fall when he nearly spun into a turn, surrendering more spots to Gordon and Mears. The second competition yellow was waved later on the lap as Harlien led Potts, Brabham, Gordon, Mears, Hynes, Boyle, Eversley, and a very-damaged Hoffman. Hoffman was eventually ordered to pit road for repairs, though he remained on track for the green flag.

The ensuing restart set up a two-lap race to the finish. As Harlien continued to lead, Potts and Brabham battled for second, the latter winning out. On the final lap, Brabham attempted to use the slipstream to overtake the leader but failed. A second effort came up short as Harlien beat him to the finish for his first victory of 2019 and sixth of his career.

As Brabham settled for second for the third straight race and a weekend sweep of seconds (and secured the overall weekend victory), Potts claimed third, followed by Gordon, Hynes, Boyle, Mears, Eversley, and Hoffman.

Race results

FinishStartNumberDriverLaps CompletedTotal Points EarnedStatus
1555Gavin Harlien1332Running
2983Matt Brabham1329Running
3760Cole Potts1324Running
487Robby Gordon1322Running
5257Bill Hynes1316Running
6493Russell Boyle1315Running
7325Casey Mears1314Running
8143Ryan Eversley1313Running
9647Jeff Hoffman1312Running
Additional point for each position gained
Most laps led (3 bonus points): Gavin Harlien
1263 posts

About author
History major at San Jose State University and lifelong motorsports fan who covers NASCAR and the Stadium Super Trucks.
Related posts
Indy LightsStadium SUPER Trucks

Matt Brabham, Jacob Abel provide SST flavour at Chris Griffis Memorial Test

5 Mins read
The Road to Indy’s Chris Griffis Memorial Open Test featured not one, but two drivers testing Indy Lights cars who have raced in Stadium Super Trucks: Matt Brabham and Jacob Abel.
Stadium SUPER Trucks

Robby Gordon becomes SST Long Beach all-time winner with Race 2 triumph

2 Mins read
By dominating Sunday’s race, Robby Gordon is now a four-time Stadium Super Trucks winner at Long Beach, breaking a tie with Matt Brabham.
Stadium SUPER Trucks

Jerett Brooks wins Long Beach Race 1, first since Crandon 2013

2 Mins read
Bill Hynes dominated Saturday’s Stadium Super Trucks race at Long Beach, but it was Jerett Brooks who came out on top for his first victory in eight years.