FIA World Rallycross

World RX: Ekström Masterfully Beats Kristoffersson to Take Round Six Win

1 Mins read
Credit: IMG / FIA World RX

Mattias Ekström won for the second time in the 2020 FIA World Rallycross Championship after coming out on top in a tough battle against Johan Kristoffersson in Riga.

Ekström didn’t complete a single warm-up lap on Sunday morning in a bid to save his tyres and crucially topped qualifying as a result of the decision. He won two of the three sessions, and dominated his semi-final to then be able to save four new tyres for the final.

Kristoffersson pushed Ekström hard all race and was all over the tail of the Audi S1 after he was unable to beat the Kyb Team JC driver off the line. A last lap joker lap from Ekström was enough to beat Kristoffersson who lost precious time when fending off Niclas Grönholm on the last lap of the final.

Ekström executed his tyre strategy to perfection and has closed the gap to Kristoffersson in the championship to seventeen points as a result of his win.

Robin Larsson claimed his first podium of the year having battled back from an error in Q2 which hurt any chance he had for the win. Larsson fended off Grönholm in the semi-finals and again in the final despite being on older tyres.

Credit: IMG / FIA World RX

Timmy Hansen was fourth in round six as the Peugeot 208 lacked the ultimate pace of the VW Polo and Audi S1, while Kevin Hansen was sixth but was promoted to the final due to Timo Scheider‘s demotion for contact with Andreas Bakkerud in semi-final two.

Scheider and Bakkerud were battling for third to try and make it to the final and on the last lap they came together at turn four as Bakkerud tried to get up the inside.

Bakkerud hit the inside wall hard before coming to a fast stop. He managed to climb out of the car on his own and was taken to the trackside medical centere for a checkup.

Timur Timerzyanov, Krisztian Szabo, Anton Marklund and Liam Doran were the other semi-final casualties despite Doran’s opportunistic move around the outside at turn two.

Sunday’s result means Kyb Team JC have extended their lead in the teams’ standings to 43 points over Team Hansen, with GRX Taneco a further 31 points behind with four rounds of the championship remaining.

Follow @tcfoffroad on: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

153 posts

About author
Love sport, especially motorsport. Fan of F1, Formula E, IndyCar, BTCC, Rallycross and V8 Supercars. So not too much then. Covering World RX for The Checkered Flag.
Related posts
FIA World RallycrossInterviews

INTERVIEW: "I Know I'm Capable Of Winning The World Championship" - Kevin Hansen Is Ready For The Challenge Of The 2024 FIA World Rallycross Championship

12 Mins read
Kevin Hansen, runner-up of the 2023 FIA World Rallycross Championship, talks to The Checkered Flag about his determination to go one better in 2024 and the exciting future of the sport.
FIA World Rallycross

Kristoffersson Unveils Sustainably-Fuelled 2024 World Rallycross Challenger

2 Mins read
Six-time world champion Johan Kristoffersson has revealed the machinery his team will be using to challenge for a seventh world title.
FIA World RallycrossInterviews

INTERVIEW: Timmy Hansen on the "very exciting" 2024 FIA World Rallycross Championship

10 Mins read
Rallycross superstar Timmy Hansen sat down with The Checkered Flag to discuss the exciting prospect of the 2024 FIA World Rallycross Championship.