NASCAR Cup SeriesNASCAR Truck Series

Brad Keselowski, John Hunter Nemechek on Kansas poles

3 Mins read
Credit: Sean Gardner/Getty Images

For this weekend’s NASCAR Cup and Camping World Truck Series races at Kansas Speedway, Brad Keselowski and John Hunter Nemechek will start on the poles.

Cup: Keselowski on pole after Dega win

Keselowski is the ninth different Cup driver to win a race in 2021 after beating William Byron and Michael McDowell to the finish last Sunday at Talladega. It was Keselowski’s sixth win at the superspeedway and ties him with Hall of Famers Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt Jr. for the second most in track history. As such, he will start Sunday’s Buschy McBusch Race 400 (yes, that is the race name) from the pole. He is a two-time winner at Kansas with his last victory coming in the 2019 spring event.

Byron and McDowell will start behind him. The former has top tens in each of his last three races at Kansas while the latter’s best finish is sixteenth in the 2020 spring date.

Driver changes from Talladega include Joey Gase being in Rick Ware Racing‘s #15 driven by J.J. Yeley last week. RWR’s #28, which Gase ran at Talladega in a one-off tribute, is renumbered to its normal #53 and will be piloted by Garrett Smithley. Austin Cindric and Team Penske‘s #33 return to the track, while Matt Mills makes his Cup début in the #55 for B.J. McLeod Motorsports.

12Brad KeselowskiTeam PenskeFord
224William ByronHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
334Michael McDowellFront Row MotorsportsFord
44Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas RacingFord
521Matt DiBenedettoWood Brothers RacingFord
63Austin DillonRichard Childress RacingChevrolet
712Ryan BlaneyTeam PenskeFord
820Christopher BellJoe Gibbs RacingToyota
918Kyle BuschJoe Gibbs RacingToyota
1041Cole CusterStewart-Haas RacingFord
118Tyler ReddickRichard Childress RacingChevrolet
1237Ryan PreeceJTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
1323Bubba Wallace23XI RacingToyota
146Ryan NewmanRoush Fenway RacingFord
1519Martin Truex Jr.Joe Gibbs RacingToyota
1617Chris BuescherRoush Fenway RacingFord
179Chase ElliottHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
1810Aric AlmirolaStewart-Haas RacingFord
1914Chase BriscoeStewart-Haas RacingFord
2011Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs RacingToyota
2199Daniel SuárezTrackhouse Racing TeamChevrolet
2238Anthony AlfredoFront Row MotorsportsFord
2347Ricky Stenhouse Jr.JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
2442Ross ChastainChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
2548Alex BowmanHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
267Corey LaJoieSpire MotorsportsChevrolet
2743Erik JonesRichard Petty MotorsportsChevrolet
281Kurt BuschChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet
2922Joey LoganoTeam PenskeFord
3078B.J. McLeod*Live Fast MotorsportsFord
3177Justin Haley*Spire MotorsportsChevrolet
325Kyle LarsonHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
3351Cody Ware*Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
3400Quin HouffStarCom RacingChevrolet
3515Joey Gase*Rick Ware RacingChevrolet
3653Garrett Smithley*Rick Ware RacingFord
3752Josh BilickiRick Ware RacingFord
3833Austin Cindric*Team PenskeFord
3955Matt Mills*B.J. McLeod MotorsportsFord
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Cup points
Credit: Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

Truck: Toyotas occupy top five

Toyota has dominated the 2021 Truck season with wins in all six races so far. The most recent event at Richmond two weeks ago only solidified the manufacturer’s power when Tundras took up all but one spot in the top five with Kyle Busch Motorsports placing all three of their trucks in said range. Nemechek, the current points leader, beat his boss Kyle Busch to the win at Richmond and the two will lead the field to green in Saturday’s WISE Power 200.

Behind them will be ThorSport Racing drivers and fellow Toyotas Ben Rhodes and Johnny Sauter. After the third KBM driver Chandler Smith, the Ford of Todd Gilliland breaks up the Toyota party.

Christian Eckes returns to ThorSport’s #98 that Grant Enfinger drove at Richmond while Enfinger heads to CR7 Motorsports‘ #9 usually piloted by Codie Rohrbaugh; Enfinger first drive the #9 at Las Vegas. Cup rookie Chase Briscoe is in Roper Racing‘s #04 for his first non-dirt Truck race since his lone season in the series in 2017. Owner/driver Bret Holmes will drive the #32 for his team that Sam Mayer took to a ninth-place finish at Richmond. Ross Chastain is in Niece Motorsports‘ #44 that Jett Noland drove, while Jordan Anderson returns to his Jordan Anderson Racing #3 that Howie DiSavino III ran. Jesse Iwuji is in the #33 for Reaume Brothers Racing, replacing Keith McGee.

14John Hunter NemechekKyle Busch MotorsportsToyota
251Kyle Busch*Kyle Busch MotorsportsToyota
399Ben RhodesThorSport RacingToyota
413Johnny SauterThorSport RacingToyota
518Chandler SmithKyle Busch MotorsportsToyota
638Todd GillilandFront Row MotorsportsFord
716Austin HillHattori Racing EnterprisesToyota
82Sheldon CreedGMS RacingChevrolet
921Zane SmithGMS RacingChevrolet
1052Stewart FriesenHalmar Friesen RacingToyota
1142Carson HocevarNiece MotorsportsChevrolet
1288Matt CraftonThorSport RacingToyota
1326Tyler AnkrumGMS RacingChevrolet
1419Derek KrausMcAnally-Hilgemann RacingToyota
1524Raphaël LessardGMS RacingChevrolet
1622Austin Wayne SelfAM RacingChevrolet
1798Christian EckesThorSport RacingToyota
1815Tanner GrayDavid Gilliland RacingFord
1911Spencer DavisSpencer Davis MotorsportsToyota
201Hailie DeeganDavid Gilliland RacingFord
2130Danny BohnOn Point MotorsportsToyota
2225Timothy PetersRackley WARChevrolet
2323Chase PurdyGMS RacingChevrolet
2402Kris WrightYoung’s MotorsportsChevrolet
2556Timmy Hill*Hill MotorsportsChevrolet
2645Brett Moffitt*Niece MotorsportsChevrolet
2720Spencer BoydYoung’s MotorsportsChevrolet
2841Dawson CramCram Racing EnterprisesChevrolet
299Grant EnfingerCR7 MotorsportsChevrolet
3004Chase Briscoe*Roper RacingFord
3140Ryan TruexNiece MotorsportsChevrolet
3232Bret HolmesBret Holmes RacingChevrolet
3349Ryan ReedCMI MotorsportsChevrolet
3444Ross Chastain*Niece MotorsportsChevrolet
3512Tate FoglemanYoung’s MotorsportsChevrolet
363Jordan Anderson*Jordan Anderson RacingChevrolet
376Norm BenningNorm Benning RacingChevrolet
3833Jesse IwujiReaume Brothers RacingChevrolet
3910Jennifer Jo CobbJennifer Jo Cobb RacingChevrolet
4034TBAReaume Brothers RacingToyota
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Truck points
Related posts
NASCAR Truck Series

Jack Wood making NASCAR Truck debut at COTA

1 Mins read
ARCA Menards Series driver Jack Wood will run two NASCAR Truck races for GMS Racing at Circuit of the Americas and Charlotte. They will mark his first starts in the Trucks.
NASCAR Cup SeriesNASCAR Xfinity Series

Martin Truex Jr., Daniel Hemric on poles for Dover

3 Mins read
Martin Truex Jr. and Daniel Hemric will start the NASCAR Cup and Xfinity Series races at Dover from the poles, respectively.
NASCAR Cup Series

Penske pals Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano without crew chiefs for Dover

1 Mins read
Team Penske drivers Brad Keselowski and Joey Logano will not have crew chiefs Jeremy Bullins and Paul Wolfe for Dover. Bullins remains out due to protocol while Wolfe is suspended for a lug nut violation.