NASCAR Truck Series

Toyotas dominate ToyotaCare 250, John Hunter Nemechek leads KBM 1–2

3 Mins read
Credit: Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Kyle Busch Motorsports continued to show why they are one of the top teams in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series when John Hunter Nemechek and owner/driver Kyle Busch led a 1–2 finish in Satuday’s ToyotaCare 250 at Richmond Raceway. True to the race name, it was a Toyota blowout as Tundras occupied all but one of the top five and led all 250 laps.

In a Toyota lockout of the first two rows, Ben Rhodes started on the pole. Ryan Reed, running his first NASCAR race since 2019, was sent to the rear as he replaced Ray Ciccarelli in CMI Motorsports’ #49, while Josh Reaume, in his first start after being reinstated, did so for unapproved adjustments. Rhodes led the first three laps before ThorSport Racing team-mate and defending race winner Grant Enfinger took the spot and led the entire stage. Nemechek, Busch, Rhodes, Austin Hill, Carson Hocevar, Raphaël Lessard, Todd Gililand, Derek Kraus, and Stewart Friesen rounded out the top ten; all but three (Hocevar, Lessard, Gilliland) were Toyota drivers.

Busch, looking to win his #51 truck’s third race in a row, led the field to the start of Stage #2 and stayed in front until lap 99 when Jennifer Jo Cobb spun. Earlier in Busch’s lead on lap 84, Hailie Deegan slid up the track and hit Tate Fogleman, sending the latter into the wall. Nemechek took the lead after Cobb’s caution and would score his sixth stage victory of the year. Enfinger, Rhodes, Hill, Busch, Zane Smith, Lessard, Gilliland, Kraus, and Smith finished behind him. As with the opening segment, seven of the top ten raced for Toyota with Smith, Lessard, and Gilliland as the holdouts for Chevrolet and Ford.

While the first stage had no on-track incidents and the second was marked by two, the third segment was plagued by numerous wrecks. Kraus spun on lap 152, Deegan collided with Smith on lap 159, Cobb was caught in multiple incidents including a tangle with Norm Benning that resulted in her being parked by NASCAR, Dawson Cram and Austin Wayne Self got together on lap 181, Codie Rohrbaugh destroyed his rear end on lap 195, and Kris Wright slammed the backstretch wall on lap 212.

At the front, Nemechek led much of Stage #3 with brief reprieves due to cautions that allowed the ThorSport Toyotas of Rhodes and Matt Crafton to lead laps. KBM team-mate Chandler Smith took the lead for the final restart, but Nemechek got by him on lap 234 and drove off to his second win of the year. Busch finished second to complete the second Nemechek/Busch top two after Las Vegas in March. It is KBM’s fourth consecutive win after Vegas, Busch winning Atlanta, and Martin Truex Jr. claiming Bristol Dirt

“It’s just so special,” Nemechek told FS1. “Just thankful for all my guys here. They are awesome and gave me one heck of a Safeway Toyota Tundra. Just can’t thank all of our partners enough for believing in me, Kyle and everybody. I know he tried getting me there at the end and this is the third time we’ve raced against each other this year and I’m one up on him so far in his own equipment so that’s nice. Just super thankful, super blessed.

“Actually, this trophy and flag, before I walked out of the motor home, (wife) Taylor said, ‘You brought me home a trophy from Vegas. Now, this is (daughter) Aspen’s first race so bring her one.’ We did it.”

Tyler Ankrum was the lone non-Toyota driver in the top five as he finished third. Gilliland and Sam Mayer, the latter running his first race for Bret Holmes Racing, joined Ankrum as the only drivers not in Tundras to score top tens.

Further down the order, Reed finished twenty-ninth in his NASCAR return while Keith McGee was behind him by one spot in his Truck début. Howie DiSavino III ended his maiden Truck race in thirty-fourth.

Race results

1184John Hunter NemechekKyle Busch MotorsportsToyota250Running
21251Kyle Busch*Kyle Busch MotorsportsToyota250Running
33026Tyler AnkrumGMS RacingChevrolet250Running
42318Chandler SmithKyle Busch MotorsportsToyota250Running
51913Johnny SauterThorSport RacingToyota250Running
6838Todd GillilandFront Row MotorsportsFord250Running
7199Ben RhodesThorSport RacingToyota250Running
8398Grant EnfingerThorSport RacingToyota250Running
94032Sam Mayer*Bret Holmes RacingChevrolet250Running
10216Austin HillHattori Racing EnterprisesToyota250Running
1192Sheldon CreedGMS RacingChevrolet250Running
121342Carson HocevarNiece MotorsportsChevrolet250Running
13452Stewart FriesenHalmar Friesen RacingToyota250Running
14621Zane SmithGMS RacingChevrolet250Running
152919Derek KrausMcAnally-Hilgemann RacingToyota250Running
162511Spencer DavisSpencer Davis MotorsportsToyota250Running
17141Hailie DeeganDavid Gilliland RacingFord250Running
18788Matt CraftonThorSport RacingToyota250Running
191022Austin Wayne SelfAM RacingChevrolet250Running
202830Danny BohnOn Point MotorsportsToyota250Running
213456Timmy Hill*Hill MotorsportsChevrolet250Running
222725Timothy PetersRackley WARChevrolet250Running
23524Raphaël LessardGMS RacingChevrolet249Running
241115Tanner GrayDavid Gilliland RacingFord249Running
253141Dawson CramCram Racing EnterprisesChevrolet248Running
263644Jett NolandNiece MotorsportsChevrolet247Running
272620Spencer BoydYoung’s MotorsportsChevrolet247Running
281523Chase Purdy #GMS RacingChevrolet245Running
293949Ryan ReedCMI MotorsportsChevrolet245Running
303233Keith McGeeReaume Brothers RacingChevrolet244Running
312104Cory RoperRoper RacingFord243Running
32386Norm BenningNorm Benning RacingChevrolet240Running
333734Josh ReaumeReaume Brothers RacingChevrolet240Running
34353Howie DiSavino IIIJordan Anderson RacingChevrolet221Running
352202Kris WrightYoung’s MotorsportsChevrolet212Accident
36209Codie RohrbaughCR7 MotorsportsChevrolet195Accident
371745Brett MoffittNiece MotorsportsChevrolet186Handling
383310Jennifer Jo CobbJennifer Jo Cobb RacingChevrolet168DVP
392412Tate FoglemanYoung’s MotorsportsChevrolet82Accident
401640Ryan TruexNiece MotorsportsChevrolet44Rear Gear
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Truck points
Related posts
NASCAR Truck Series

Sheldon Creed breaks Toyota stranglehold, wins chaotic LiftKits4Less 200

4 Mins read
The last stage of Friday’s NASCAR Truck race at Darlington was plagued by numerous wrecks. A strong overtime restart by Sheldon Creed enabled him to become the first non-Toyota winner in 2021.
NASCAR Cup SeriesNASCAR Truck SeriesNASCAR Xfinity Series

NASCAR goes back in time with Darlington throwbacks

6 Mins read
In celebration of NASCAR’s throwback weekend at Darlington, various teams will race with special liveries honouring the past.
NASCAR Cup SeriesNASCAR Truck SeriesNASCAR Xfinity Series

Brad Keselowski, A.J. Allmendinger, John Hunter Nemechek on poles for Throwback Weekend

4 Mins read
For NASCAR’s Throwback Weekend at Darlington, Brad Keselowski, A.J. Allmendinger, John Hunter Nemechek will start on the poles. Ironically, Allmendinger is the only pole-sitter who will have a throwback livery.

Leave a Reply