Extreme E

Team Andretti United book final place in Extreme E Desert X-Prix after Crazy Race win

2 Mins read
Crazy Race Winners Andretti United
Photo Credit: Extreme E

The Desert X-Prix (3-4 April) in Al-Ula Saudi Arabia has seen its first Crazy Race winner as Team Andretti United Extreme E took the victory.

The Crazy Race Grid was made up of the fourth, fifth and sixth placed qualifiers from Saturday’s action, with a place in the Final up for grabs for the Race Winner. 

The race saw Teams and Drivers take to the 8.8km course in the Arabian Desert over two laps, with a driver switch taking place at the end of lap one. The goal; finish first to join Rosberg X Racing and X44 in the Desert X-Prix Final.

Lining up on Pole Position for the Crazy Race was Timmy Hansen for Andretti United Extreme E, he was joined by Jenson Button for JBXE and Hispano Suiza Xite Energy with Oliver Bennett at the wheel.

It was seen the Semi-Final before this race that it was vital to take the hole-shot, due to the visibility advantage that is gained from this. The all-important holeshot went to Timmy Hansen for Andretti United, followed by Bennett and Button. The Crazy Race remained a tighter affair than the Semi-Final for the first half of the opening lap, but Hansen still held a 5 second lead over the now infamous Desert drop.

It wasn’t long until Hansen opened up a 30 Second lead before entering the switch zone. He made way for Catie Munnings. Ollie Bennett came into the switch zone second, with Christine Giampaoli Zonca taking over the Hispanio Suiza Xite Energy vehicle. Button came into the switch zone last, making way for teammate Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky.

Catie Munnings had a half minute lead to maintain and throughout the second half of the final lap that is what she did. The order behind her predictably remained the same, as it did in the Semi-Final. 

It was Andretti United who took the Crazy Race win, Munnings bringing it home to book her teams spot in the final. Team Hispanio Suiza came home second and Team JBXE took the final spot in the Crazy Race. The result marked a huge turnaround for Andretti United, who at the hands of Munnings suffered a puncture in qualifying, but now find themselves in the Desert X-Prix Final.

The Final Classification for the Crazy Race was as follows:

PosDriversNationalityTeamGap Behind
1Hansen/MunningsSwedish/BritishAndretti United Extreme E
2Bennett/Giampaoli ZoncaBritish/SpanishHispanio Suiza Xite Energy+30.34

You can re-watch all of the action so far right here:

Follow @tcfoffroad on: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

35 posts

About author
I cover all things off-road here at The Checkered Flag. I am partly responsible for covering WRC, WRX and all other manners of off-road motorsport as part of the wonderful off-road team here at The Checkered Flag. It's my duty to bring my passion for motorsport and put it on the page for you, the readers, and I hope you share this passion with me.
Related posts
Extreme E

Extreme E Student Ambassador programme brings 4 female students to Island X Prix

2 Mins read
Extreme E invited four female Student Ambassadors to the Island X Prix doubleheader week to gain experience working with the series. They will also join the championship for the final two races of the 2022 season.
Extreme ESim Racing

Turn 10 becomes Extreme E partner, ODYSSEY 21 to feature in Forza Horizon 5

2 Mins read
Extreme E will appear in Forza Horizon 5’s Series 10 update, marking the series’ first time partnering with a video game, while developer Turn 10 Studios is now XE’s Official Gaming Partner.
Extreme E

Rosberg X Racing completes bounceback with Island X Prix 2 win, ABT CUPRA disqualified

3 Mins read
Rosberg X Racing wins the Island X Prix again, and this time they get to keep it. Conversely, runner-up ABT CUPRA was disqualified due to an improperly fastened seatbelt.