Extreme E

Team X44 top Lac Rose first qualifying

1 Mins read

Early Saturday went smoothly for Team X44 as Sébastien Loeb and Cristina Gutiérrez have proved themselves to be the fastest qualifier in Q1, setting time 10:47.289 in the sands of Lac Rose.

The session’s show-stealer Chip Ganassi and ABT Cupra followed closely from behind, sitting on the 2nd and 3rd respectively. Both Kyle Leduc and Sara Price were pushing really hard to get the maximum result of their car after reportedly feeling positive for their performance during yesterday practice.

As expected, Mattias Ekström appeared flawless during his run. Extreme E reserve driver, as well as 2001 Paris-Dakar Rally winner who’s racing alongside Ekström Jutta Kleinschmidt, proves her skill remains as strong as ever, being able to drag the car finished on the third position. Unfortunately, the happiness didn’t last quite long after a Switch Zone infringement was found later, pushing the team into 4th. As result, Rosberg X Racing gained one position up.

Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky looked more confident compared to her in the last race, improving every single run together with his teammate Kevin Hanson setting their time in 5th. Meanwhile Jamie Chadwick got to enjoy her full qualifying session this time. Looking a bit struggling but relaxed, she tried to find the right amount of pace she could extract of her car.

Clearly things didn’t go as planned for Andretti United and Acciona Sainz. Laia Sanz had to end her session due to mechanical problems, she couldn’t seem to restart her car. While Timmy Hansen is on his run his car also stopped on track, but he managed to get it back on. It did cost several minutes for the team, meaning less chance to get in the semifinals.

1Sébastien Loeb/Cristina GutiérrezX44210:47.289
2Kyle LeDuc/Sara PriceSegi TV Chip Ganassi Racing210:51.528
3Mattias Ekström/Jutta KleinschmidtABT CUPRA XE210:58.122
4Johan Kristofferson/Molly TaylorRosberg X Racing211:02.310
5Kevin Hansen/Mikaela Åhlin-KottulinskyJBXE211:13.405
6Stéphane Sarrazin/Jamie ChadwickVeloce Racing211:37.599
7Oliver Bennett/Christine Giampaoli ZoncaXITE Energy Racing211:52.806
8Timmy Hansen/Catie MunningsAndretti United Extreme E214:39.665
9Carlos Sainz/Laia SanzAcciona Sainz XE Team1DNF

25 posts

About author
Usually write about anything motorsport with the lifelong affinity for energetic music and good foods.
Related posts
Extreme E

Extreme E Student Ambassador programme brings 4 female students to Island X Prix

2 Mins read
Extreme E invited four female Student Ambassadors to the Island X Prix doubleheader week to gain experience working with the series. They will also join the championship for the final two races of the 2022 season.
Extreme ESim Racing

Turn 10 becomes Extreme E partner, ODYSSEY 21 to feature in Forza Horizon 5

2 Mins read
Extreme E will appear in Forza Horizon 5’s Series 10 update, marking the series’ first time partnering with a video game, while developer Turn 10 Studios is now XE’s Official Gaming Partner.
Extreme E

Rosberg X Racing completes bounceback with Island X Prix 2 win, ABT CUPRA disqualified

3 Mins read
Rosberg X Racing wins the Island X Prix again, and this time they get to keep it. Conversely, runner-up ABT CUPRA was disqualified due to an improperly fastened seatbelt.