NASCAR Xfinity Series

Ty Gibbs wins Alsco Uniforms 300, 2-time winner in first 6 starts

3 Mins read
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

This Ty Gibbs kid is good. The 18-year-old has just six career NASCAR Xfinity Series starts yet he is already a two-time race winner after triumphing in Saturday’s Alsco Uniforms 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Stewart-Haas Racing‘s Riley Herbst won his first career pole ahead of SHR’s Cup Series driver Chase Briscoe. Timmy Hill was ordered to the rear due to unapproved adjustments after his right-rear tyre hit the track bar mount during qualifying, but he had already been set to start last.

Herbst led the first seven laps before Briscoe passed him, leading until Daniel Hemric took the spot on lap 40. During Briscoe’s run, two cautions were called with the competition yellow on lap 20 and Xfinity newcomer Grant Enfinger‘s wreck after contact with Chad Finchum on lap 26. Hemric would lead to the stage conclusion ahead of A.J. Allmendinger, Gibbs, Austin Cindric, Jeb Burton, Briscoe, Noah Gragson, Harrison Burton, Ryan Sieg, and Tyler Reddick.

Hemric continued to lead to start the second stage. On lap 90, Gibbs spun while racing Briscoe to result in a caution that ended the stage; the two would tangle again later in the race. By the segment’s end, Hemric was once again on top. Gragson, Cindric, Briscoe, Gibbs, Harrison and Jeb Burton, Justin Allgaier, and Brandon Jones closed out the top ten.

The final stage commenced with Hemric continuing to lead until Briscoe took the lead on lap 114. Five laps later, Jeb Burton spun to force a caution. Another yellow for debris came on lap 144 to break up Briscoe’s lead.

On lap 150, Sieg got loose and slid through turn two before his car turned up exiting the corner into Josh Berry and Brett Moffitt. The impact briefly sent Sieg’s car into the air before sliding through the apron, with Tommy Joe Martins barely squeezing by. Briscoe retook the lead during the ensuing caution and continued to hold it until his next bout with Gibbs: with twenty laps to go, Briscoe and Gibbs were fighting for the lead when the former got loose exiting turn two, causing him to spin through the backstretch apron but avoiding the wall.

“I want to say sorry to Briscoe and the #99 crew,” Gibbs said after the race. “That was not my intention at all to wreck them. I just got on his left rear and didn’t help him out with the air and he kind of hopped the cushion so it didn’t really help that. That was partially my fault and I take that for sure.”

Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

The following restart marked even more chaos when Hemric was turned as the field approached turn one, triggering a pile-up that collected Gragson, Herbst, Jones, Martins, Michael Annett, and Justin Haley, and resulted in a red flag.

While Hemric was knocked out of the race, Joe Gibbs Racing team-mate Gibbs took the lead. Gibbs would lead the final laps en route to his second career victory. He had won at the Daytona Road Course in his series début in February.

“It’s definitely nice to win on the oval, especially in my hometown,” added Gibbs. “I’m 30 minutes away from here, so it’s nice to have a win at least once today.

“[…] I was definitely frustrated with myself (after the spin). I completely wrecked myself, but didn’t really make myself look good today and made some mistakes. Definitely still learning how the air works and I’ll take full responsibility for all the mistakes I made. Overall, we ended up in Victory Lane.”

Brandon Brown finished fourth for his second top five of the year, while Briscoe settled for sixth and B.J. McLeod Motorsports‘s second-best finish behind SHR team-mate Kevin Harvick‘s fourth at COTA last week. Ty Dillon, running his first race for Our Motorsports, finally notched his first top ten in seventh. Tyler Reddick, in Jordan Anderson Racing‘s second ever Xfinity race, finished fifth.

Race results

1854Ty GibbsJoe Gibbs RacingToyota200Running
2422Austin CindricTeam PenskeFord200Running
31320Harrison BurtonJoe Gibbs RacingToyota200Running
43268Brandon BrownBrandonbilt MotorsportsChevrolet200Running
51631Tyler Reddick*Jordan Anderson RacingChevrolet200Running
6299Chase Briscoe*B.J. McLeod MotorsportsFord200Running
71023Ty DillonOur MotorsportsChevrolet200Running
81419Brandon JonesJoe Gibbs RacingToyota200Running
9910Jeb BurtonKaulig RacingChevrolet200Running
10651Jeremy ClementsJeremy Clements RacingChevrolet200Running
11267Justin AllgaierJR MotorsportsChevrolet200Running
12198Riley HerbstStewart-Haas RacingFord200Running
13286Landon CassillJD MotorsportsChevrolet200Running
143336Alex LabbéDGM RacingChevrolet200Running
152213Chad FinchumMBM MotorsportsToyota200Running
16204Ryan VargasJD MotorsportsChevrolet200Running
172548Jade BufordBig Machine RacingChevrolet200Running
183078Jesse LittleB.J. McLeod MotorsportsToyota200Running
191111Justin HaleyKaulig RacingChevrolet200Running
203117Cody WareSS-Green Light RacingToyota200Running
213492Josh WilliamsDGM RacingChevrolet199Running
22170Jeffrey EarnhardtJD MotorsportsChevrolet199Running
232176Stefan ParsonsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet199Running
24191Michael AnnettJR MotorsportsChevrolet199Running
251502Brett MoffittOur MotorsportsChevrolet198Running
2672Myatt SniderRichard Childress RacingChevrolet196Running
27239Noah GragsonJR MotorsportsChevrolet187Accident
28318Daniel HemricJoe Gibbs RacingToyota186Accident
292744Tommy Joe MartinsMartins MotorsportsChevrolet186Accident
302915Colby HowardJD MotorsportsChevrolet184Running
311239Ryan SiegRSS RacingFord151Accident
32188Josh BerryJR MotorsportsChevrolet150Accident
33516A.J. AllmendingerKaulig RacingChevrolet128Brakes
343666Timmy Hill*MBM MotorsportsToyota114Engine
35245Matt MillsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet103Accident
363526Grant Enfinger*Sam Hunt RacingToyota26Accident
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Xfinity points
Avatar photo
3505 posts

About author
Justin is not an off-road racer, but he writes about it for The Checkered Flag.
Related posts
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Young's Motorsports adds Xfinity programme with Honeyman

1 Mins read
NASCAR Truck team Young’s Motorsports will expand to the Xfinity Series in 2024 with Leland Honeyman Jr. as the driver of the #42.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Blaine Perkins joining RSS Racing for 2024 Xfinity

1 Mins read
Blaine Perkins will race full-time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series in 2024 for RSS Racing.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Creed, Smith join JGR Xfinity, sextet to split two all-star cars

2 Mins read
Joe Gibbs Racing’s Xfinity team will run 2 cars for Sheldon Creed and Chandler Smith, the #20 for Aric Almirola and John Hunter Nemechek, and #19 for Taylor Gray, Joe Graf Jr., William Sawalich and Ryan Truex.