NASCAR Truck Series

John Hunter Nemechek wins again in SpeedyCash 220

2 Mins read
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Kyle Busch Motorsports is now five-for-five on 1.5-mile tracks in 2021, and John Hunter Nemechek has contributed to four of those victories. The Camping World Truck Series points leader won Saturday’s 220 at Texas Motor Speedway from the pole.

After Ben Rhodes, who started second, led the opening lap, Nemechek was on point for the remainder of the first stage. On lap eight, Sheldon Creed got loose in the PJ1 traction compound in turn two and spun up into the wall; another spin on lap 22 ended his day. Ray Ciccarelli‘s spin on lap 34 ended the stage under caution. Nemechek, Austin Hill, Rhodes, Chandler Smith, Stewart Friesen, Brennan Poole, Austin Wayne Self, Derek Kraus, Todd Gilliland, and Josh Berry closed out the top ten.

Gilliland took the lead to begin the second stage before losing it to Cup Series driver Chase Elliott. Elliott, who won in his most recent Truck start at Charlotte in 2020, would lead until Friesen was clipped by Carson Hocevar on the backstretch and spun to bring out a caution. Another yellow came on lap 62 for Jennifer Jo Cobb stopping on track. Like in Stage #1, the second segment ended under yellow after Drew Dollar spun and slammed into the turn two wall. Zane Smith, Tanner Gray, Kraus, Poole, Ross Chastain, Berry, Elliott, Chandler Smith, Nemechek, and Johnny Sauter comprised the top ten; Elliott and Chastain did not receive stage points as Cup drivers, while Berry did not since he declared for the Xfinity Series standings.

Elliott became the leader for Stage #3. On lap 109, Nemechek took the lead. Save for a brief five-lap stretch by Zane Smith, Nemechek would lead the rest of the way as the stage ran green en route to his fourth win of the year.

Nemechek, who joined Joe Gibbs Racing for a three-race Xfinity schedule yesterday, has dominated the 1.5-mile tracks with wins on all but one; the exception at Kansas saw him finish second to his boss Kyle Busch.

“I feel like we’ve been making a statement all year,” said Nemechek. “I feel like we’re one of the favourites every time that we show up to the race track. I can’t say enough about Eric Phillips (crew chief) and all these guys. Everyone, the pit crew, everyone at KBM, the fab shop, machine shop, chassis shop. Everyone does so good with building our trucks and I’m just lucky enough to be behind the wheel.”

Elliott finished second. Chastain was initially third but failed post-race inspection and was disqualified.

Race results

114John Hunter NemechekKyle Busch MotorsportsToyota147Running
22224Chase Elliott*GMS RacingChevrolet147Running
31898Grant EnfingerThorSport RacingToyota147Running
4516Austin HillHattori Racing EnterprisesToyota147Running
5818Chandler SmithKyle Busch MotorsportsToyota147Running
6721Zane SmithGMS RacingChevrolet147Running
7438Todd GillilandFront Row MotorsportsFord147Running
81126Tyler AnkrumGMS RacingChevrolet147Running
92015Tanner GrayDavid Gilliland RacingFord147Running
103325Josh Berry*Rackley WARChevrolet147Running
11342Carson HocevarNiece MotorsportsChevrolet147Running
121713Johnny SauterThorSport RacingToyota147Running
13919Derek KrausMcAnally-Hilgemann RacingToyota146Running
142730Brennan PooleOn Point MotorsportsToyota146Running
151322Austin Wayne SelfAM RacingChevrolet146Running
161440Ryan TruexNiece MotorsportsChevrolet146Running
172823Chase PurdyGMS RacingChevrolet145Running
182104Cory RoperRoper RacingFord145Running
192556Tyler HillHill MotorsportsChevrolet145Running
201588Matt CraftonThorSport RacingToyota144Running
212341Dawson CramCram Racing EnterprisesChevrolet144Running
221902Kris WrightYoung’s MotorsporsChevrolet144Running
23303Howie DiSavino IIIJordan Anderson RacingChevrolet143Running
24121Hailie DeeganDavid Gilliland RacingFord142Running
253112Tate FoglemanYoung’s MotorsporsChevrolet142Running
26299Ben RhodesThorSport RacingToyota141Running
272620Spencer BoydYoung’s MotorsporsChevrolet141Running
282934Jesse IwujiReaume Brothers RacingToyota141Running
293433Keith McGeeReaume Brothers RacingChevrolet140Running
30356Norm BenningNorm Benning RacingChevrolet134Running
313210Jennifer Jo CobbJennifer Jo Cobb RacingFord131Running
323649Ray CiccarelliCMI MotorsportsToyota89Brakes
331051Drew DollarKyle Busch MotorsportsToyota68Accident
34652Stewart FriesenHalmar Friesen RacingToyota52Accident
35162Sheldon CreedGMS RacingChevrolet18Accident
362445Ross Chastain*Niece MotorsportsChevrolet147Running (DSQ)
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Truck points
1103 posts

About author
History major and lifelong motorsports fan who covers NASCAR and the Stadium Super Trucks.
Related posts
NASCAR Truck SeriesNASCAR Xfinity Series

Michael Annett suffers leg injury, missing Xfinity Atlanta day after skipping Knoxville Trucks

2 Mins read
Michael Annett will not run Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity race at Atlanta due to a leg injury, and Austin Dillon was a last-minute replacement. Annett had also missed Friday’s Truck event at Knoxville.
NASCAR Truck Series

Austin Hill survives chaos of inaugural Corn Belt 150

4 Mins read
It took four overtimes and came with 14 cautions, but Austin Hill is the inaugural winner of the NASCAR Truck Series dirt race at Knoxville Raceway.
NASCAR Truck Series

Taylor Gray cleared after 13-week recovery, set for Truck debut at WGI

1 Mins read
Taylor Gray, who broke his vertebra, leg, and foot in a car accident in April, will return to racing with ARCA at Elko this Saturday before making his NASCAR Truck début at Watkins Glen in August.

Leave a Reply