NASCAR Xfinity Series

Kyle Busch 1 away from 100 Xfinity wins after Alsco 250 victory

2 Mins read
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Kyle Busch has remarked in the past that if he hits 100 NASCAR Xinity Series victories, the two-time Cup Series champion would stop dabbling in the lower tier. After win #99 in Saturday’s Alsco Uniforms 250 at Texas Motor Speedway, the racing world is one victory away from seeing if he will live up to his word.

Busch started fourteenth while last week’s winner A.J. Allmendinger was on the pole. Allmendinger led the first eight laps before Busch’s Joe Gibbs Racing team-mate Brandon Jones took the lead and held it until the competition caution. Busch briefly led before Austin Cindric and fellow JGR driver Daniel Hemric overtook him and finished ahead at the end of the first stage. Jones, Justin Haley, Allmendinger, Justin Allgaier, Michael Annett, Harrison Burton, and Noah Gragson rounded out the top ten.

The entirety of Stage #2 was dominated by Busch. The lone incident came on lap 62 when Jeb Burton spun after contact from Josh Berry, resulting in an apology from the latter and a post-race conversation. Busch, Hemric, Cindric, Burton, Gragson, Allgaier, Allmendinger, Berry, Riley Herbst, and Annett comprised the top ten for the stage.

Drama ramped up in the final stage with numerous wrecks that resulted in six cautions. In the midst of the carnage, JGR drivers dominated much of the segment as Busch, Burton, and Hemric traded the position. Allgaier broke up the JGR party at the front when he took the lead on lap 117 following a restart, and he led until Jones spun on lap 139. The ensuing caution enabled Jones’ JGR ally Busch to take the lead for the next restart. While Burton’s wreck on lap 165 resulted in overtime, Busch held off Allgaier to claim his second win of 2021.

It is Busch’s tenth Xfinity victory at Texas, and he would have been riding a four-race win streak at the track had he not been disqualified in 2020. He still has enough eligibility to run three more races in 2021, giving him plenty of chances to break the 100-win mark.

But does he plan on ending his Xfinity career once he gets that hundredth?

“So here’s the problem: Joe (Gibbs) already sold me for 2022 so I don’t know. We’re going to have to talk about that. I better get a pay raise, that’s for sure. Racing for free ain’t fun no more—I’m just kidding.”

Race results

11454Kyle Busch*Joe Gibbs RacingToyota171Running
2167Justin AllgaierJR MotorsportsChevrolet171Running
3422Austin CindricTeam PenskeFord171Running
4518Daniel HemricJoe Gibbs RacingToyota171Running
5319Brandon JonesJoe Gibbs RacingToyota171Running
6116A.J. AllmendingerKaulig RacingChevrolet171Running
7309Noah GragsonJR MotorsportsChevrolet171Running
81902Brett MoffittOur MotorsportsChevrolet171Running
9211Justin HaleyKaulig RacingChevrolet171Running
1061Michael AnnettJR MotorsportsChevrolet171Running
11939Ryan SiegRSS RacingFord171Running
121298Riley HerbstStewart-Haas RacingFord171Running
13768Brandon BrownBrandonbilt MotorsportsChevrolet171Running
142051Jeremy ClementsJeremy Clements RacingChevrolet171Running
15226Landon CassillJD MotorsportsChevrolet171Running
161348Jade BufordBig Machine RacingChevrolet171Running
171192Josh WilliamsDGM RacingChevrolet171Running
181036Alex LabbéDGM RacingChevrolet171Running
19288Josh BerryJR MotorsportsChevrolet171Running
203166David StarrMBM MotorsportsToyota171Running
213644Tommy Joe MartinsMartins MotorsportsChevrolet171Running
223890Ronnie Bassett Jr.DGM RacingChevrolet171Running
233426Brandon GdovicSam Hunt RacingToyota171Running
24154Ryan VargasJD MotorsportsChevrolet171Running
252717Garrett SmithleySS-Green Light RacingChevrolet171Running
26245Matt MillsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsToyota171Running
274061Matt JaskolMBM MotorsportsToyota168Running
282615Colby HowardJD MotorsportsChevrolet167Running
292578Jesse LittleB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet166Running
301820Harrison BurtonJoe Gibbs RacingToyota163Accident
313507Joe Graf Jr.SS-Green Light RacingChevrolet162Running
32810Jeb BurtonKaulig RacingChevrolet159Running
33172Myatt SniderRichard Childress RacingChevrolet156Accident
343231Jordan Anderson*Jordan Anderson RacingChevrolet120Running
353799Stefan ParsonsB.J. McLeod MotorsportsChevrolet110Accident
36330Jeffrey EarnhardtJD MotorsportsChevrolet107Accident
372947Kyle WeathermanMike Harmon RacingChevrolet100Fuel Pump
382352Gray GauldingJimmy Means RacingChevrolet89Accident
392123Tanner BerryhillOur MotorsportsChevrolet88Accident
403974Bayley Currey*Mike Harmon RacingChevrolet0Electrical
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Xfinity points
1681 posts

About author
Justin is neither a NASCAR nor off-road racer, but he has covered them for The Checkered Flag since 2018.
Related posts
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Dexter Bean returns to Xfinity Series for Road America

2 Mins read
Wisconsin native Dexter Bean will make his 2022 NASCAR Xfinity Series season début at his home track Road America, returning to DGM Racing for whom he has raced since its formation in 2015.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Julia Landauer to make NASCAR Xfinity debut for Alpha Prime

1 Mins read
Julia Landauer, former Survivor contestant and EuroNASCAR driver, will race in the NASCAR Xfinity Series for the first time as she enters the Nwe Hampshire race for Alpha Prime Racing.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Andy Lally joins SSGLR for Xfinity road courses

1 Mins read
After running the NASCAR Xfinity race at Portland for Alpha Prime Racing, Andy Lally will drive the #08 for SS-Green Light Racing at the remaining road races beginning Road America.