NASCAR Cup Series

Chase Elliott continues road course domination with Jockey 250 win

3 Mins read
Credit: Logan Riely/Getty Images

Want to win money easily? Just bet on Chase Elliott winning on a road course.

Elliott dominated the final stage of Sunday’s Jockey Made in America 250 to win his second straight road race and seventh of his career, and become the first NASCAR Cup Series race winner at Road America since Tim Flock in 1956 (then the lone instance of Cup racing at the Wisconsin circuit).

Hendrick Motorsports team-mates William Byron and Kyle Larson qualified on the front row, while Elliott started thirty-fourth after being unable to set a qualifying lap before time expired, a fate that also befell others like Saturday’s Xfinity Series winner Kyle Busch and Chase Briscoe. Busch would have started at the back regardless as he switched to a backup car following a wreck in practice, as did Ryan Preece. Bubba Wallace (transmission change), Justin Haley (engine change), Kyle Tilley, Josh Bilicki, and Quin Houff (all unapproved adjustments) were also ordered to the rear.

Byron led every lap in the opening stage. Daniel Suárez was not as fortunate as a transmission issue caused him to stop on track on lap four, resulting in a caution, before going to the garage. Tilley also produced a yellow flag when he drove into the gravel. By the end of the segment, Byron led A.J. Allmendinger, Larson, Tyler Reddick, Denny Hamlin, Christopher Bell, Alex Bowman, Kurt Busch, and Elliott. Allmendinger did not receive stage points as he is running for the Xfinity championship.

Xfinity regular Austin Cindric took the lead to begin the second stage, though his day came to an end early in the final segment due to a gear issue. Matt DiBenedetto led laps before Kyle Busch assumed the position. Busch and many drivers elected to pit before the stage break, allowing Reddick to inherit the lead and stage win. Byron, Ross Chastain, Larson, Kurt Busch, Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick, Wallace, Haley, and Kyle Busch rounded out the top ten.

DiBenedetto paced the grid to open Stage #3. Elliott took the lead on lap 38 and held the spot until Anthony Alfredo‘s left-rear brake rotor failed and caused him to beach in a gravel trap. The restart came on lap 46 with Elliott leading, and he would develop a considerable margin of over five seconds on Bell en route to his thirteenth career win and seventh on a road course.

Since his win at Watkins Glen in 2019, Elliott has scored six more road race victories in the next nine. His seven RC wins moves him into third on the all-time win list behind Tony Stewart‘s eight and Hendrick executive Jeff Gordon‘s nine. Elliott also secured Hendrick’s seventh win in the last ten races.

“We really kind of struggled yesterday and never got into a good rhythm I didn’t feel like on my end,” said Elliott in his post-race press conference. “I thought we could be a little better with the car. Made a lot of changes overnight, kind of started the day, I thought that I liked it. But I just still wasn’t in a good rhythm. About halfway, I felt like I started to kind of put things together, start minimising some mistakes I’d been making all weekend, then started finding some pace.

“After that, it got fun. I was able to get a flow going, get in rhythm. Then from there we were able to get on, we kind of got caught up from our bad starting spot, got on the same strategy as the leaders. From there, we were able to go to work. Had things going good enough to keep up and get by those guys.

“[…] Our team has a whole has been good at road courses the whole time, too. Kyle (Larson) won at Sonoma. I feel like drivers are only as good as what they have to drive. Fortunately, I feel like I’ve got the best stuff and just got to make it work.”

Race results

1349Chase ElliottHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet62Running
21320Christopher BellJoe Gibbs RacingToyota62Running
34018Kyle BuschJoe Gibbs RacingToyota62Running
4161Kurt BuschChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet62Running
5611Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs RacingToyota62Running
63514Chase BriscoeStewart-Haas RacingFord62Running
7842Ross ChastainChip Ganassi RacingChevrolet62Running
848Tyler ReddickRichard Childress RacingChevrolet62Running
9919Martin Truex Jr.Joe Gibbs RacingToyota62Running
10721Matt DiBenedettoWood Brothers RacingFord62Running
11373Austin DillonRichard Childress RacingChevrolet62Running
123847Ricky Stenhouse Jr.JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet62Running
13202Brad KeselowskiTeam PenskeFord62Running
141910Aric AlmirolaStewart-Haas RacingFord62Running
151422Joey LoganoTeam PenskeFord62Running
1625Kyle LarsonHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet62Running
171541Cole CusterStewart-Haas RacingFord62Running
181217Chris BuescherRoush Fenway RacingFord62Running
192143Erik JonesRichard Petty MotorsportsChevrolet62Running
201712Ryan BlaneyTeam PenskeFord62Running
21237Corey LaJoieSpire MotorsportsChevrolet62Running
221048Alex BowmanHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet62Running
232752Josh BilickiRick Ware RacingFord62Running
243623Bubba Wallace23XI RacingToyota62Running
252277Justin Haley*Spire MotorsportsChevrolet62Running
263996Ty Dillon*Gaunt Brothers RacingToyota62Running
27254Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas RacingFord62Running
282615James DavisonRick Ware RacingChevrolet62Running
29316A.J. Allmendinger*Kaulig RacingChevrolet62Running
301834Michael McDowellFront Row MotorsportsFord62Running
312951Cody Ware*Rick Ware RacingChevrolet62Running
32286Ryan NewmanRoush Fenway RacingFord62Running
33124William ByronHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet62Running
343300Quin HouffStarCom RacingChevrolet62Running
353078Kyle TilleyLive Fast MotorsportsFord60Running
361199Daniel SuárezTrackhouse Racing TeamChevrolet53Running
372438Anthony AlfredoFront Row MotorsportsFord42Brakes
38533Austin Cindric*Team PenskeFord35Rear Gear
393153Ryan EversleyRick Ware RacingFord27Rear Gear
403237Ryan PreeceJTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet6Engine
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Cup points
1600 posts

About author
Justin is a History major at San Jose State University and lifelong racing fan who has worked for The Checkered Flag since 2018. His coverage mainly focuses on NASCAR, the Stadium Super Trucks, and off-road series like Extreme E and SCORE International. He also dabbles in other disciplines such as IndyCar, rallycross, and sports cars.
Related posts
NASCAR Cup Series

Kyle Busch wins All-Star Race elimination qualifying

2 Mins read
In a unique 1-on-1 qualifying format where cars received a four-tyre pit stop before doing one lap around Texas Motor Speedway, Kyle Busch is your NASCAR Cup Series All-Star Race pole winner.
NASCAR Cup Series

Kurt Busch wins Kansas in 23XI banner day

3 Mins read
All six Toyota NASCAR Cup cars, including the 23XI Racing duo of Kurt Busch and Bubba Wallace, finished in the top 10 at Kansas as Busch held off Kyle Larson for his first win with the team.
NASCAR Cup Series

Spire Motorsports partners with UACC for Ukrainian civil defence aid

2 Mins read
Spire Motorsports’ #77, piloted by Josh Bilicki, will feature “Slava Ukraini” and adorned in blue and yellow as part of a sponsorship from the Ukranian American Coordinating Council, who is providing armour and aid for the country’s civil defence units.