NASCAR Xfinity Series

Kyle Busch wins in Xfinity again with Henry 180 victory

2 Mins read
Credit: James Gilbert/Getty Images

Kyle Busch in the NASCAR Xfinity Series can be summed up with three words from Thanos: “I am inevitable.”

Despite going off course twice in Saturday’s Henry 180 at Road America, Busch took the lead shortly after the final restart with five laps to go and pulled away for his 101st win in the series and in his maiden start at the Wisconsin track.

Joe Gibbs Racing team-mate Ty Gibbs, driving a new #81 car as Busch was in the #54, won his first career Xfinity pole while Busch started fifth. Matt Jaskol, Gray Gaulding, Jeffrey Earnhardt, Colby Howard, Boris Said, Kyle Weatherman, and Bayley Currey failed to qualify.

Gibbs led the first two laps before A.J. Allmendinger, who won at Road America in 2013, sprung to the lead and would take the stage win. Austin Cindric, Jeb Burton, Justin Haley, Noah Gragson, Gibbs, Justin Allgaier, Michael Annett, Josh Bilicki, and Riley Herbst rounded out the top ten.

Allmendinger also won the second stage, a segment that saw Sam Mayer crash out. Allgaier, Daniel Hemric, Haley, Busch, Brandon Jones, Gibbs, Cindric, Harrison Burton, and Herbst finished behind him.

Jones was the leader when Spencer Pumpelly spun off course and became lodged in the tyre barrier, resulting in a caution. Another yellow came for Gibbs’ car stopping. Lap 39 saw the largest incident of the race: after multiple drivers stacked up on the inside lane at the restart, Myatt Snider was clipped and spun, with multiple drivers having to go through the grass to avoid him. Cody Ware took out an advertising signboard while Kris Wright also went around.

The wreck set up a restart with five laps to go, one that saw Busch take the lead before pulling away to win for the first time at Road America.

“It was a challenge,” Busch said. “It was just a different kind of challenge. Thankfully we had that set of tyres there at the end and that was kind of our saving grace. The #16 (Allmendinger) and the #22 (Cindric) getting the damage, the #7 (Allgaier) getting damage, so it kind of fell in my lap a little bit but we still had a fast race car.”

Busch has won all four of his Xfinity starts in 2021, including another road course win at Circuit of the Americas in May.

Race results

1554Kyle Busch*Joe Gibbs RacingToyota45Running
2418Daniel HemricJoe Gibbs RacingToyota45Running
3121Michael AnnettJR MotorsportsChevrolet45Running
4316A.J. AllmendingerKaulig RacingChevrolet45Running
51020Harrison BurtonJoe Gibbs RacingToyota45Running
62099Kevin Harvick*B.J. McLeod MotorsportsFord45Running
73498Riley HerbstStewart-Haas RacingFord45Running
8222Austin CindricTeam PenskeFord45Running
9369Noah GragsonJR MotorsportsChevrolet45Running
101311Justin HaleyKaulig RacingChevrolet45Running
111968Brandon BrownBrandonbilt MotorsportsChevrolet45Running
1267Justin AllgaierJR MotorsportsChevrolet45Running
13155Andy LallyB.J. McLeod MotorsportsToyota45Running
14810Jeb BurtonKaulig RacingChevrolet45Running
153344Tommy Joe MartinsMartins MotorsportsChevrolet45Running
161690Preston PardusDGM RacingChevrolet45Running
173092Josh WilliamsDGM RacingChevrolet45Running
18731Kaz Grala*Jordan Anderson RacingChevrolet45Running
192119Brandon JonesJoe Gibbs RacingToyota45Running
202942Timmy Hill*MBM MotorsportsToyota45Running
212236Alex LabbéDGM RacingChevrolet45Running
222639Ryan SiegRSS RacingFord45Running
23272Myatt SniderRichard Childress RacingChevrolet45Running
241717Cody WareSS-Green Light RacingFord45Running
252526Kris Wright*Sam Hunt RacingToyota45Running
263113Stephen LeichtMBM MotorsportsToyota45Running
27324Landon CassillJD MotorsportsChevrolet45Running
28951Jeremy ClementsJeremy Clements RacingChevrolet44Running
291407Josh Bilicki*SS-Green Light RacingChevrolet42Accident
302878Ryan EllisB.J. McLeod MotorsportsToyota42Accident
312402Brett MoffittOur MotorsportsChevrolet41Accident
323523Natalie DeckerOur MotorsportsChevrolet38Accident
33181Ty GibbsJoe Gibbs RacingToyota34Transmission
341148Jade BufordBig Machine RacingChevrolet16Suspension
35238Sam MayerJR MotorsportsChevrolet12Accident
36186Spencer PumpellyJD MotorsportsChevrolet11Accident
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for Xfinity points
1683 posts

About author
Justin is neither a NASCAR nor off-road racer, but he has covered them for The Checkered Flag since 2018.
Related posts
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Justin Allgaier rocks Nashville in Tennessee Lottery 250

4 Mins read
After coming up short in 2021, Justin Allgaier led 134 of 188 laps to dominate the NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Nashville Superspeedway.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Dexter Bean returns to Xfinity Series for Road America

2 Mins read
Wisconsin native Dexter Bean will make his 2022 NASCAR Xfinity Series season début at his home track Road America, returning to DGM Racing for whom he has raced since its formation in 2015.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Julia Landauer to make NASCAR Xfinity debut for Alpha Prime

1 Mins read
Julia Landauer, former Survivor contestant and EuroNASCAR driver, will race in the NASCAR Xfinity Series for the first time as she enters the Nwe Hampshire race for Alpha Prime Racing.