Ernie Francis Jr. wins SRX at Lucas Oil

2 Mins read
Credit: Superstar Racing Experience

At 23 years of age, Ernie Francis Jr. is the youngest driver in the Camping World SRX Series among the nine full-timers. Despite his youth, the seven-time Trans-Am Series champion showed he can wheel an SRX car around a .686-mile oval as he dominated Saturday’s race at Lucas Oil Raceway for his first win of the season.

Heat races

Rallycross star Scott Speed, driving a ringer car for the second time, dominated the first heat. Michael Waltrip ran behind Speed for much of the early portion before the caution came out for running too many laps under green, which Tony Kanaan used to his advantage to take second.

Willy T. Ribbs finished at the back to be on the pole for Heat #2. Paul Tracy led early before being passed by Hélio Castroneves, who held the spot through the next green-flag caution and the finish.

Heat #1 results

141Scott Speed23
248Tony Kanaan23
315Michael Waltrip23
414Tony Stewart23
522Bobby Santos III23
618Bobby Labonte23
72Ernie Francis Jr.23
898Marco Andretti23
93Hélio Castroneves23
109Bill Elliott23
1113Paul Tracy23
1217Willy T. Ribbs23

Heat #2 results

13Hélio Castroneves21
218Bobby Labonte21
314Tony Stewart21
42Ernie Francis Jr.21
598Marco Andretti21
613Paul Tracy21
741Scott Speed21
815Michael Waltrip21
922Bobby Santos III21
1048Tony Kanaan21
1117Willy T. Ribbs21
129Bill Elliott21


Unlike the usual 100 laps, the race was 76 laps long to celebrate the 4th of July weekend.

Seeking to win his third race in a row, Tony Stewart started on the pole for the feature ahead of Speed. Speed led the first twelve laps before being passed by Francis. Three cautions for hitting the green flag limit took place on laps 26, 48, and 66.

Francis and Speed battled throughout the race before yellow flags started being waved for on-track incidents. Kanaan spun shortly after the race hit the 70-lap mark, while Tracy did so on the penultimate lap. Speed fell back after contact with Castroneves, leading to Francis fighting with Bobby Labonte on the final restart. Francis would hold off Labonte to win his first SRX race.

Labonte’s runner-up finish marked his first podium, while Speed rebounded to take third. All twelve drivers completed every lap, the first time this season that everyone finished on the lead lap.

Francis posted on social media, “All I can say is thank you… this has been the opportunity of a lifetime!”

Next Saturday’s race will take place at Slinger Speedway.

Feature results

12Ernie Francis Jr.76
218Bobby Labonte76
341Scott Speed76
498Marco Andretti76
522Bobby Santos III76
615Michael Waltrip76
714Tony Stewart76
813Paul Tracy76
93Hélio Castroneves76
1048Tony Kanaan76
1117Willy T. Ribbs76
129Bill Elliott76
1688 posts

About author
Justin is neither a NASCAR nor off-road racer, but he has covered them for The Checkered Flag since 2018.
Related posts

Tony Stewart wins temper-filled SRX South Boston

2 Mins read
Many drivers were less than pleased with each other after the Superstar Racing Experience’s South Boston round including Tony Stewart, but at least he was able to get the last laugh in the end.

Justin Marks replacing Helio Castroneves for SRX Stafford

1 Mins read
With Hélio Castroneves unable to run the Superstar Racing Experience race at Stafford due to his IndyCar obligations, Justin Marks will make his SRX début in his place.

Legendary NASCAR promoter Bruton Smith dies at 95

2 Mins read
Bruton Smith, founder of Speedway Motorsports which operates many NASCAR circuits and the brainchild of a vast array of ideas adopted by the sanctioning body, has passed away. The NASCAR Hall of Famer was 95.