NASCAR Xfinity Series

Howie DiSavino III debuting in Xfinity with 6 races for Alpha Prime

1 Mins read
Credit: Howie DiSavino III

Howie DiSavino III will make his NASCAR Xfinity Series début in 2022, running a six-race schedule for Alpha Prime Racing starting at Phoenix Raceway on 12 March. The other five starts will come at Richmond Raceway (2 April), Charlotte Motor Speedway (28 May), Texas Motor Speedway (24 September), Talladega Superspeedway (1 October), and Martinsville Speedway (29 October).

“I am very excited to race with Alpha Prime Racing. I think we will have a great season together,” said DiSavino. “It has been a dream come true to race in the Xfinity Series. Tommy Joe (Martins, team co-owner) is giving me that shot to make my dream come true.

A former pro late model and ARCA Menards Series driver, DiSavino competed in the Camping World Truck Series in 2021. Running five races for Jordan Anderson Racing, he recorded a best finish of twenty-second at Pocono.

In ARCA, he has made six starts since 2019 all for Win-Tron Racing and its successor AM Racing. He notched two top tens with a best finish of ninth at IRP in 2020. He also ran the 2020 ARCA Menards Series West season finale at Phoenix, placing eleventh with Win-Tron.

Of the six tracks on his Xfinity itinerary, he has raced at Richmond and Texas in the Trucks. The former, which was in his maiden Truck start, saw him finish thirty-fourth while he was twenty-third at Texas.

“A big part of the growth of Alpha Prime Racing will be how well we can develop young drivers,” commented Martins. “I’m thankful that Howie, his family, his sponsors, and Austin Theriault (DiSavino’s manager) believe in what we’re doing here and are giving us that chance. We want to give him the opportunity to grow and be successful.”

APR will field two cars, the #44 and #45, though it was not immediately revealed which will be piloted by DiSavino in his starts. What is known is that Kaz Grala will be his team-mate at the Phoenix round. Martins, co-owner Caesar Bacarella, Rajah Carruth, Ryan Ellis, and Sage Karam will also race for the team.

1611 posts

About author
Justin is a History major at San Jose State University and lifelong racing fan who has worked for The Checkered Flag since 2018. His coverage mainly focuses on NASCAR, the Stadium Super Trucks, and off-road series like Extreme E and SCORE International. He also dabbles in other disciplines such as IndyCar, rallycross, and sports cars.
Related posts
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Mason Filippi, Connor Mossack to make NASCAR debuts at Portland

2 Mins read
IMSA’s Mason Filippi and Trans-Am’s Connor Mosack will make their NASCAR Xfinity débuts at Portland for DGM Racing and Joe Gibbs Racing, respectively.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Tyler Reddick takes maiden win for Big Machine Racing

2 Mins read
Tyler Reddick’s domination of the final restart at Texas enabled him to secure the maiden NASCAR Xfinity victory for Scott Borchetta’s Big Machine Racing Team.
NASCAR Xfinity Series

Justin Allgaier starts from rear, still leads most laps for Darlington win

2 Mins read
Despite starting at the back for a battery change, Justin Allgaier led 76 of 147 laps, including the final two in overtime to win at Darlington for the second straight year.