Porsche Carrera Cup GB

Porsche Carrera Cup 2009 championship review

2 Mins read

The Porsche Carrera Cup is an established part of the package and has seen a number of drivers move on to better things, with 2004 Champion Richard Westbrook now a works Porsche driver overseas.

For 2009, there were the 3 categories, the Pro category, the Pro-am 1 category and the Pro-am 2 category. The differences between the categories – Pro drivers are paid drivers by the teams, the Pro-Am drivers are those who are paying for their drive and have a day job, while Pro-Am 2 is for the amateur drivers in the older style of cars, and these drivers can hop in and out of the series, and race in certain events. Another new aspect for 2009 was the Porsche Scholarship scheme, which provided 2 drivers with a substantial amount towards their season's budget.

Tim Bridgman proved himself as the fastest driver throughout the season, as his qualifying performances in the first half of the season demonstrated with 10 pole positions from a possible 10, but a mixture of car reliability problems and bad luck meant that Tim couldn't take full advantage, and the 2008 champion Tim Harvey was there or there abouts, as was the 2008 series runner up Michael Caine and the 2007 Champion James Sutton chasing them down after missing the season opener at Brands Hatch, while the second half of the season was all about James and Tim catching up with Tim Bridgman at the top of the standings – James Sutton had a 4 race unbeaten run.

The pro-am 1 title battle was intense as well, with 4 drivers, Glynn Geddie, Rob Lawson, Tony Gilham and Oliver Jackson all in contention throughout the season. Rob Lawson joined from the Seat Cupra Championship. Pro-Am 2 saw a small grid of cars with drivers dropping in and out as the season progressed, which meant that Robin Clark was able to build a lead in the Championship at the start of the season.

The story of the Porsche Carrera Cup GB season was the way that the grids kept increasing slowly but surely and the undoubted speed of the Champion, Tim Bridgman.

There were only four outright race winners: Tim Bridgman, Tim Harvey, James Sutton and Michael Caine with another 3 podium visitors, Glynn Geddie with 3 visits to the podium in the Pro-Am 1 car, Rob Lawson took a single podium in the Pro-Am 1 car and Karl Leonard took 4th place on the track but inherited 3rd place at Silverstone after Tim Bridgman was excluded from the results after a last lap incident which saw Tim Harvey in the gravel trap. Tim Bridgman was deducted 8 Championship points as well for an incident earlier in the race.

All the classes were tightly fought out over the 20 race series, with Tim Bridgman coming out as the overall Champion. Glynn Geddie took the honours in Pro-Am 1, finishing with 196 points and Glenn McMenamin won the Pro-Am 2 class with 110 points.

Top 3 overall after round 20:
1. Tim Bridgman – 324
2. James Sutton – 320
3. Tim Harvey – 316

Related posts
Porsche Carrera Cup GB

King impresses as Team Parker Racing dominate all classes in Carrera Cup GB Qualifying

1 Mins read
Porsche GB Junior Harry King continues to impress as he leads a Team Parker Racing blitz across all Carrera Cup GB classes.
Porsche Carrera Cup GB

Rookie Graham tops Carrera Cup GB Brands Hatch test

1 Mins read
Top ten cars finish within a second of each other as ultra competitive Porsche Carrera Cup GB series heads to Brands Hatch for round two.
Porsche Carrera Cup GBSim Racing

Gran Turismo Sport - Download James Townsend's Carrera Cup GB inspired liveries

1 Mins read
With the 2020 Porsche Carrera Cup GB season approaching, we’ve been busy on Gran Turismo Sport’s livery creator to recreate James Townsend’s striking livery in game.


Leave a Reply