Formula Renault UKOpen Wheel

Fortec Pair Take Saturday Pembrey Wins

2 Mins read

Fortec Motorsport duo Joni Wiman and Alex Lynn took the spoils in Rounds three and four of the 2010 Michelin Formula Renault UK Winter Championship at Pembrey. In the first of the weekend's double headers, Wiman took his maiden victory in the series before team mate Lynn took his third win of the series to edge closer to the title.

On a drying track, it was Jack Hawksworth who took pole position for both races in qualifying, adding to his pole position at the earlier round at Snetterton. Lynn, who won both races in Norfolk, joined him on the front row for both races.

As the lights went out for the day's first race, a slow start on the damp side of the grid for Hawksworth allowed Lynn to lead the group into the first corner. Wiman followed through into second, with MGR Motorsport's Luke Wright moving up from sixth on the grid into third by the end of the lap.

After a short time behind the safety car, Lynn began to pull away, with a mistake by Wright dropping him down the order. A good couple of laps saw Daniil Kvyat move up the order to fourth behind Hawksworth, before an accident at the Esses forced the race to be red flagged, with Matt Bell's car stranded on circuit.

After a short delay, the race was restarted in the order they crossed the line, with Lynn struggling from pole like Hawksworth before him, allowing Wiman to jump into the lead. A good restart for Richie Stanaway saw him move into the leading pack, until an multi car incident at the Hatchets Hairpin saw the Kiwi and title hopefuls Lynn and Millroy amongst those losing out.

Missing the carnage was Wiman, who held off a late charge from Red Bull backed Russian driver Kvyat to take the win. Hawksworth held on to take his first car racing podium in third, followed by Ollie Rowland and Mitchell Gilbert, who worked his way up from 12th on the grid.  

 The day's second race proved to be a lot less eventful. A now much drier track surface allowed pole sitter Hawksworth to get a good start, leading Lynn and the rest of the pack into the hairpin for the first time. A good move on Wiman on lap two saw Wright move up the third, with Millroy following the pair in fifth.

Clearly feeling the pressure out front, rookie Hawksworth began to get closed in by reigning Graduate Cup champion Lynn, who made his move around the outside of the first hairpin on lap ten. He came under more pressure from Wiman, who had passed Wright back for third, who made a move a lap later, with contact between the pair dropping him to the edge of the top ten.

At the front, Lynn was having no such trouble, streaking away to take his third win in four races. Wiman held on to second, securing his second NGK Fastest Lap award of the day along the way with a new lap record. Wright secured another podium in third, with Kvyat and Manor Competition's Ollie Millroy completing the top five. CRS Racing's Robert Foster-Jones followed in an impressive sixth.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Formula 1Formula Renault BARCFormula Renault UKW Series

Alice Powell Joins Alpine as Talent Identification and Development Mentor

2 Mins read
Alice Powell joins Alpine as talent identification and development mentor. She will help in finding young female talent, mentoring them into the Academy and Affiliate programme.
F4 British ChampionshipOpen Wheel

Alex Dunne wins season opener race at Donington Park in British F4 championship

2 Mins read
Alex Dunne claims victory at British F4 season opener at Donington with Oliver Grey in second and Ugo Ugochukwu in third.
F4 British ChampionshipOpen Wheel

Alex Dunne signs with Hitech GP for 2022 British F4 Campaign

1 Mins read
Alex Dunne joins Hitech GP as the final driver for the 2022 British F4 season.