Double Focus For Audi’s DTM Programme In 2011

1 Mins read

Following a disappointing 2010 campaign in which it lost the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters (DTM) crown to rival Mercedes, Audi Sport is focused on regaining the title in 2011.

Audi will again field nine cars in the DTM next year, run by its Abt Sportsline, Phoenix and Rosberg teams. The driver lineup for these teams will be announced in January.

Over the winter, the Audi Sport engineers will mainly concentrate upon the development work with the series' new tyre supplier, who is yet to be announced.

Head of Engineering at Audi Sport, Dr Martin Muhlmeier said: “In 2010 the tires were a really crucial topic which caused us to fall a little behind our competitor. This mustn't happen again.”

With the current development freeze ongoing into 2011, the team at Audi Sport is working on the successor for the current Audi A4 DTM, in readiness for the new technical regulations that will be introduced for 2012. The first tests for the car, internally designated as the “R17”, are planned for next summer.

Related posts

Getting Ready For Some DTM Action

3 Mins read
Official pre-season testing for the 2021 DTM season gets underway with excitement building for drivers, team principals and fans alike.
DTMFormula 1Formula 3

Red Bull Place Alexander Albon and Liam Lawson in the DTM Series in 2021

1 Mins read
Red Bull-backed Alexander Albon (in select races that do not clash with his F1 reserve driver role) and Liam Lawson will race in the DTM Series in 2021.
DTMFeaturesFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipIMSA

The Audi Story, Part 2: The Dominant 2000s

4 Mins read
TheCheckeredFlag walks through the history of Audi Sport and the tales behind their success in this three-part series. Part 2 looks at the brand’s dominance through the 2000s and the technological developments the manufacturer made.

Leave a Reply