Open WheelSuperleague Formula

Superleague Calendar Announced

2 Mins read

The 2011 calendar for the Superleague Formula by Sonangol has been announced with the provisional 12 rounds to include a mixture of new and returning venues along with some historical and established circuits.

A big development in the calendar comes in the form of three flyaway events to be held outside of Europe which is to build on the success of the Chinese events last October. However, the Asian races held at the Ordos circuit and Beijing will still form part of the calendar and will be bought forward to make room for the brand new events at the end of the season.

The first half of the season will provide a European based championship, kicking off in Monza, Italy in April which last held a Superleague race in 2009. Portimao will host the following round in Portugal before the teams head to Holland and the Assen circuit. The Nurburgring in Germany plays host for round four with Navarra and Spain and Zolder in Belgium hold events in July. The European leg finishes off at Donington Park which returns to the series after missing out last year to Brands Hatch.

After a five week break, the teams jet off to China to take on the two Asian rounds in September whilst October will hold two of the yet to be named new rounds before the season finale in November.

Superleague Formula Competitions Director Robin Webb said: “Having successfully doubled our number of rounds last year, we believe a 12-event calendar – which don't forget comprises 36 races in total – is the perfect number to stick with moving forward. The Chinese rounds taught us a lot this year so I think Superleague Formula's fourth season of competition is the right time to be visiting more countries further afield and introducing the series to new fans and markets. The combination of seven European and five flyaway events is the perfect ratio.”     

Provisional 2011 Superleague Formula Calendar:

Round 1 – Autodromo di Monza, Italy – April 16/17
Round 2 – Autódromo do Algarve, Portugal – May 7/8
Round 3 – Circuit TT Assen, Holland – June 4/5
Round 4 – Nürburgring, Germany – June 18/19
Round 5 – Circuito de Navarra, Spain – July 2/3
Round 6 – Circuit Zolder, Belgium – July 16/17
Round 7 – Donington Park, UK – August 6/7
Round 8 – Ordos International Circuit, China – September 10/11
Round 9 – Beijing International Street Circuit, China – September 17/18
Round 10 – TBC Non-European – October
Round 11 – TBC Non-European – October
Round 12 – TBC Non-European – November

Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.

Leave a Reply