Open WheelSuperleague Formula

Superleague Continues With Huge Prize Fund

1 Mins read

Last year the Superleague Formula by Sonangol handed out an incredible €5,110,000 in prize money and will continue with one of motorsports biggest prize funds in 2011.

The drivers will once again fight for the €280,000 up for grabs in each of the 12 races next year, which sees €100,000 go to the winning driver of the five lap super final, or 'Dash-for-Cash' contested between the weekends top six drivers. In addition to the large cheques available each weekend, a further €1,000,000 is awarded to the seasons champion, €500,000 for the runner up and €250,000 for the seasons third placed driver.

This will maintain the Superleague Formula's unique format where drivers are awarded prize money in recognition of their on-track performance. This year's champion, Davide Rigon of the RSC Anderlecht team topped the money list after earning the one million euro winner's cheque supplemented by a further €680,000 for his race weekend performances. Championship runner up, Tottenham Hotspurs Craig Dolby netted a cool €860,000 ahead of third placed Max Wissel of the FC Basel team who pocketed a tidy €575,000.

Beijing Guoan's Aussie driver John Martin was the highest earner of those not picking up prize money for their final championship position by taking home a total fund of €365,000 thanks to some superb performances towards the end of the season. Thanks to the reverse grid system over the two races to make the series as competitive as possible, meant a total of 19 drivers went home with prize money.

Robin Webb, Competitions Director of Superleague Formula said, “these days it's becoming increasingly difficult for talented drivers to earn money racing in single-seaters – but Superleague Formula now gives them that opportunity. Our cars are all equal so each driver wins money based solely on their own performances and the hard work they put in with their teams. We attracted some of the best professional racing drivers in the world this year and with the prize fund maintained for next season, we're expecting our best-ever grid in 2011.”

66 posts

About author
Chris Gurton is the official photographer for Visit his Website at: his blog: and follow him on Twitter: @ChrisGurton
Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.