Single Seater Stars Enjoy BARC Big Night Out

by Simon Paice

The stars of the 2010 Protyre Formula Renault BARC Championship took a night out from their preparations for the 2011 campaign, to be rewarded for their achievements in the single seater series at the BARC Big Night Out. The annual event, held at the Effingham Park Hotel near Gatwick, is one of the most popular events of the year, where all the BARC Champions pick up their awards.

Picking up the big award of the evening was Alice Powell, who was awarded the Formula Renault BARC Championship trophy after her remarkable 2010 season. The 18 year old made history in becoming the first female driver to win a Formula Renault title and collected her trophy from Championship Promoter Simon North.  

Chipping Norton racer Powell said: “Winning the series meant so much to me, especially being the first female driver to ever win the title. 2010 was a great season for me and the team and it was fantastic to claim the Championship by winning at Thruxton. This year I'm hoping to move into Formula Renault UK with Manor Competition but this all depends on budgets.”

Powell also picked up the Densley Trophy during the evening to add to her bulging trophy cabinet. Her Formula Renault success has seen her recently collect the British Women's Racing Driver's Club's (BWRDC) Elite Gold Star and 'The Lord Wakefield Trophy'.

James Birch collected the Privateer Cup

Also picking up awards were James Birch, receiving his trophy for winning the Privateer Cup and championship runner up Mitchell Hale, who was awarded The Peter Collins Memorial Challenge Trophy by BARC for his efforts during the 2010 season.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More