GP2 SeriesOpen Wheel

Clos Wins Imola Sprint Race As Grosjean Seals Title

1 Mins read

Dani Clos won the final race of the 2011 GP2 Asia Series at Imola, as Romain Grosjean clinched the title, despite receiving a post-race penalty that dropped him out of the points-paying positions.

Clos took the lead of the race when polesitter Fairuz Fauzy struggled to get away as the lights went out. The Malaysian dropped several places, and then locked up going into the first corner. This caused him to hit Jules Bianchi, with Stefano Coletti also being taken out. With Bianchi being the only man who could stop points leader Grosjean coming into the final race his retirement handed the title to the DAMS driver.

Having climbed to fourth following the carnage ahead of him, Grosjean set about scoring a podium finish. As Clos held onto the lead from Fabio Leimer, Grosjean began looking for a way past Giedo van der Garde for third. He could not find a way through though, and instead came under pressure from Esteban Gutierrez behind. On the penultimate lap the Mexican attacked the Frenchman into the Variante Alta chicane. Grosjean held onto the position by taking to the grass, something that the stewards were not too impressed with. After the race they gave him a 20 second penalty for not respecting the track limits, which dropped him to seventh.

Clos held on under pressure from Leimer to take the victory for his Racing Engineering team. Van der Garde completed the podium, with Gutierrez classified fourth following Grosjean's penalty. Michael Herck was fifth after Rodolfo Gonzalez retired with mechanical failure, with Pal Varhaug taking the final point in sixth.

Final results:

  Driver Team
1. Dani Clos Racing Engineering
2. Fabio Leimer Rapax
3. Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax Team
4. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART
5. Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni
6. Pal Varhaug Dams
7. Romain Grosjean Dams
8. Oliver Turvey Ocean Racing Technology
9. Josef Kral Arden International
10. Luca Filippi Scuderia Coloni
11. Charles Pic Barwa Addax Team
12. Andrea Caldarelli Ocean Racing Technology
13. Nathanael Berthon Racing Engineering
14. Luiz Razia Team AirAsia
15. Max Chilton Carlin
16. Marcus Ericsson iSport International
17. Davide Valsecchi Team AirAsia
18. Julian Leal Rapax
19. Johnny Cecotto Super Nova Racing
20. Mikhail Aleshin Carlin
Ret. Sam Bird iSport International
Ret. Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident Racing
Ret.  Jolyon Palmer Arden International
Ret.  Jules Bianchi Lotus ART
Ret.  Stefano Coletti Trident Racing
Ret.  Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova Racing
Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.

Leave a Reply