Touring CarsWTCC

Four Brands Represented In WTCC Manufacturers’ Battle

1 Mins read

The FIA has confirmed the entries for the 2011 WTCC Manufacturers' Championship, ahead of the opening race of the season at Curitiba, Brazil, this weekend. All four of the different brands racing on this season's grid are set to be represented in the classification.

Reigning champions Chevrolet will take part for the seventh consecutive season under the name of Chevrolet Europe, the Swiss-based division of General Motors which runs the WTCC entry in partnership RML.

Despite the withdrawal of BMW Motorsport as a factory WTCC team for the 2011 season, the German marque's Customer Racing programme will support a number of independent teams running the revised BMW 320 TC car, fitted with the new 1.6 litre turbocharged engine developed by BMW. Together, these outfits will score points for BMW Customer Racing Teams.

Last year the privately-run SEATs scored manufacturer points for 'SEAT Customers Technology'. In 2011 the Sunred-run cars will score points for SR Customer Racing.

Volvo's motorsport partner Polestar Racing is entering the full WTCC season for the first time in 2011, as an evaluation for a full commitment from the Swedish manufacturer from 2012. Their single car entry for Robert Dahlgren will be classified as Volvo Polestar Evaluation Team.

Related posts
DTMTouring Cars

BMW face logistical challenges for the 2020 DTM season

3 Mins read
A condensed season for DTM leaves the teams with a logistical nightmare. BMW Team RMG Team Principal Stefan Reinhold reveals how they are planning on coping with the situation.
Formula 1MotorcyclesOff RoadOpen WheelSportscarsTouring Cars

Motorsport in the UK set to hit tracks from 4 July

2 Mins read
Motorsport UK reveals latest plans to get racing back on track in the UK.
BTCCInterviewsTouring Cars

Rickard Rydell on his career and all things BTCC

9 Mins read
Rickard Rydell became a household name in the 1990s thanks to his exploits in the British Touring Car Championship, the pinnacle of which was clinching the title in 1998 at the wheel of his Volvo S40

Leave a Reply