Formula Renault BARCOpen Wheel

Renault BARC Entries Pass Twenty

2 Mins read

Interest in the 2011 Protyre Formula Renault BARC Championship continues to grow with more drivers announcing their participation in the single seater series. Josh Webster, Kieran Vernon and David Wagner are the latest trio to join the series, meaning more than twenty cars are set to take to the grid at the season opener at Donington Park.

17-year-old Webster returns to the series in which he finished fourth in last season, while 21-year-old Vernon will compete in the championship for the first time. The duo will complete a four-car line-up at Fortec Motorsport, joining Archie Hamilton and Victor Jiminez.

Webster, who won last year's BARC Winter Cup, said: “It feels good to be back, especially with the series boasting such strong grids and some very competitive drivers. I'm pleased to be back at Fortec too and we potentially have four drivers vying for the title so it will really push us and lead to some great racing.”

Former Formula Ford racer Vernon added: “It's fantastic to be out in the series this year. Due to my late deal, I will only have one test before the first rounds which will also be my first time in the car so I'm not expecting too much from the opening rounds. Hopefully I can develop quickly though and cause a few surprises early on.”

Scotsman Wagner also competed in last year's Winter Cup and has signed for MGR Motorsport, the 18 year old joining Matt Mason and Russell Danzey in a three car squad.

Wagner commented: “After a good Winter Cup campaign I'm really pleased to be back in Formula Renault and with a team like MGR Motorsport who I know will give me a good car.”

Organisers are expecting more drivers to join the series before the opening rounds, with reigning champions Hillspeed amongst those intending to run an extra car.

Championship Promoter Simon North added: “At the start of the year, we set ourselves a target of 20 cars and we're pleased to say we have already surpassed that with 21 confirmed entries and the possibility of more on the way.”

2011 Protyre Formula Renault BARC Championship Provisional Entry List:

#1  Howard Fuller   Hillspeed
#2  Archie Hamilton   Fortec Motorsport
#4  Kieran Vernon  Fortec Motorsport
#5  Josh Webster  Fortec Motorsport
#7  Callum Bowyer  Antel Motorsport
#8  Dino Zamparelli  Antel Motorsport
#9  Zaamin Jaffer  Hillspeed
#14 Matt Mason   MGR Motorsport
#17 Tom Walker   JWA Racing
#18 Steven Durrant  RPD Motorsport
#23 Russell Danzey  MGR Motorsport
#25 Victor Jimenez  Fortec Motorsport
#26 Macaulay Walsh  SWB Motorsport
#27 Jack Dex   SWB Motorsport
#28 Andrew Karman  SWB Motorsport
#29 Raoul Owens   SWB Motorsport
#33 Sean Walkinshaw  Hillspeed
#35 Hector Hurst  Scorpio Motorsport
#36 James Thorp   MTech
#43 David Wagner  MGR Motorsport
#55 Ivan Taranov  Daytona Motorsport

Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.

Leave a Reply