Auto GPOpen Wheel

Filippi Wins Auto GP Race 1 At Brno

2 Mins read

Luca Filippi scored his first victory of the year in the first Auto GP race at Brno.

Polesitter Rio Haryanto got away well at the start, with Super Nova driver Filippi pursuing the Indonesian.

Towards the back of the field, Marco Barba tangled with Giovanni Venturini, the championship leader coming to Brno, putting both out of the race together with Francesco Dracone.

Then at Turn 3, Barba's Campos Racing teammate Bruno Mendez lost control, climbing over the back of Fabio Onidi's car and also collecting Adrien Tambay.

With just nine cars left in the race, the safety car was called into action. Many of the drivers took the opportunity to make their mandatory pitstop under the safety car, including Filippi. Haryanto waited until after the restart to make his stop, dropping to sixth. This allowed Filippi to take the lead, and the Italian went on to win by more than three seconds.

I'm lucky that Auto GP races in Brno because I really have a special feeling with this track,” said Filippi. “I don't know what but I've always been quick around here, and today was no exception.

“When Haryanto was in front I didn't push because I knew he had to pit, while I had to push in order to build a gap on Crestani.”

Fabrizio Crestani finished second for Lazarus, with Kevin Ceccon completing the podium in third place for Ombra Racing.

“Finally I managed to throw away all the bad luck I had in the first two events,” said Crestani. “The race was good, my start was ok and I passed Ceccon. From then on it was an easy race. I was hoping to catch Luca because in the first laps I had some margin, but then it was clear that he had a quicker pace than mine, so the result is fair. Now I hope to keep momentum, because I have a big gap to fill.”

Ceccon added: “On one hand another podium is very good, but I'm not really satisfied because I was quicker than Crestani but I didn't have a real chance to get close enough to try a move.”

Jon Lancaster enjoyed a strong debut in the series in fourth place, ahead of Pasquale di Sabatino and Haryanto.

Like Haryanto, Samuele Buttarelli and Sergei Afanasiev didn't pit during the safety car and ended up back in seventh and eighth as a result. Giuseppe Cipriani was the final finisher in ninth place.

Race results after 17 laps:

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Luca Filippi Supernova Racing 33:48.741
2 Fabrizio Crestani Lazarus 3.350
3 Kevin Ceccon Ombra Racing 3.995
4 Jon Lancaster Supernova Racing 4.963
5 Pasquale Di Sabatino TP Formula 30.279
6 Rio Haryanto Dams 34.955
7 Samuele Buttarelli TP Formula 36.422
8 Sergei Afanasiev Dams 37.358
9 Giuseppe Cipriani Griffitz Durango 54.192
Ret Marco Barba Campos Racing 0 laps
Ret Adrien Tambay Gravity – Charouz Dams 0 laps
Ret Francesco Dracone Francesco Dracone 0 laps
Ret Giovanni Venturini Griffitz Durango 0 laps
Ret Fabio Onidi Lazarus 0 laps
Ret Bruno Mendez Campos Racing 0 laps

1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Indy 500 Qualifying viewership up nearly 40% from 2023

1 Mins read
Fueled by a NASCAR superstar and record-setting speeds, NBC set a record with its Indy 500 qualifying broadcast.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Siegel bumped from Indy 500 field - Legge, Ericsson, Rahal make up final row

3 Mins read
After a tumultuous month of May, Dale Coyne Racing rookie Nolan Siegel has been bumped from the Indy 500 field.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

McLaren powers through multiple issues during Indy 500 qualifying

2 Mins read
Arrow McLaren had a rough start to their Indy 500 qualifying, but things quickly improved towards the end of the session.