GP2 SeriesOpen Wheel

Grosjean Wins Valencia Feature After Van Der Garde Penalty

2 Mins read

Romain Grosjean scored his second win of the GP2 Series season in the feature race at Valencia. The Frenchman benefited from a drive-through penalty handed to Giedo van der Garde, who had led from the start.

Van der Garde's Addax teammate Charles Pic was supposed to start the race from pole position, but his car stopped on the way to the grid.

Van der Garde led Grosjean and the chasing pack away from the start, but behind two drivers continued their frustrating starts to the season. Jules Bianchi and Marcus Ericsson came together at the sweeping Turn 1 and both ended up in the tyre wall on the left-hand-side on the run down to Turn 2, bringing out the safety car.

Alvaro Parente first race with Carlin in GP2 got off to a bad start as he spun out of Turn 2, into the path of Fabio Leimer, damaging the front end of both cars.

After the restart van der Garde put in a series of fastest laps to open up a decent lead over Grosjean, which he kept through the pitstops.

However, the Dutchman was then handed a drive-through penalty for ignoring yellow flags, which dropped him to fourth place once he had served it. Van der Garde climbed up to second in the closing stages past both Dani Clos and Davide Valsecchi, but Grosjean had enough of a margin to win the race by 15 seconds.

Behind the leading quartet Sam Bird came home in fifth just ahead of Luiz Razia. Esteban Gutierrez recovered from a mistake early on to finish seventh, with Josef Kral picking up the final point and sprint race pole at the scene of his back-breaking accident 12 months ago.

Luca Filippi had been fighting with Clos for third place earlier in the race before the pair tangled sending the Italian into retirement. Max Chilton ran fifth behind Clos and ahead of Bird after the pitstops but he would drop back and eventually retire.

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1. Romain Grosjean Dams 58:19.400
2. Giedo van der Garde Barwa Addax Team +15.481
3. Davide Valsecchi Caterham Team AirAsia +20.901
4. Dani Clos Racing Engineering +24.010
5. Sam Bird iSport International +24.323
6. Luiz Razia Caterham Team AirAsia +24.495
7. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus ART +48.097
8. Josef Kral Arden International +51.064
9. Jolyon Palmer Arden International +53.632
10. Michael Herck Scuderia Coloni +57.032
11. Julian Leal Rapax +58.041
12. Kevin Mirocha Ocean Racing Technology +58.567
13. Pal Varhaug Dams +1:06.416
14. Johnny Cecotto Ocean Racing Technology +1:12.085
15. Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident Racing +1:20.090
16. Fairuz Fauzy Super Nova Racing +1:25.296
17. Stefano Coletti Trident Racing +1:44.986
18. Kevin Ceccon Scuderia Coloni + 1 lap
Ret. Max Chilton Carlin 23 laps
Ret. Christian Vietoris Racing Engineering 15 laps
Ret. Luca Filippi Super Nova Racing 14 laps
Ret. Charles Pic Barwa Addax Team 13 laps
Ret. Jules Bianchi Lotus ART 0 laps
Ret. Marcus Ericsson iSport international 0 laps
Ret. Alvaro Parente Carlin 0 laps
Ret. Fabio Leimer Rapax 0 laps
Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.

Leave a Reply