GP3 SeriesOpen Wheel

Muller Beats Brits To Race 1 Win After Wet Tyre Gamble

2 Mins read

Nico Muller scored his first win of the GP3 Series season in the first race at Silverstone, after gambling to fit wet tyres on the grid gave him the lead of the race. All seven of the British drivers finished behind him, filling the remaining points positions.

With rain forecast for the race Muller was one of a minority of the pack to choose to fit wet tyres on the grid. As the rain began to fall on the warm up lap, the majority of the field opted to go to the pits to change to wet tyres. Only 11 cars made their way round to the grid for the grid, with sixth-place qualifier Muller effectively inheriting pole position as all five cars ahead of him had pitted.

Off the start the Jenzer Motorsport driver was actually beaten to Abbey by Michael Chrisensen, only for Muller to snatch the lead back into Village. Christensen then ran a bit wide on the entry into The Loop, leaving the door open for Mucke Motorsport teammate Nigel Melker. The two made contact, sending Christensen into a spin and forcing Melker to run wide.

This allowed Muller to open up a big lead, with Brits Nick Yelloly and Luciano Bacheta his nearest challengers.

Original polesitter Adrian Quaife-Hobbs completed the first lap in ninth place, ahead of fellow Brits and pitlane starters James Calado, Lewis Williamson and Alexander Sims.

Quaife-Hobbs began carving his way through the field, eventually moving up into third place past Bacheta. He was followed by Sims, who then took third place from Quaife-Hobbs. He got past Yelloly for second place before the end of the race, but Muller was too far ahead to be troubled.

Behind Sims, Yelloly and Quaife-Hobbs, Bacheta held onto fifth. Calado made it as far as sixth, leading Williamson home. Dean Smith was the last of the Brit pack in eighth, taking the final point. The reverse grid will put the British drivers in the first seven positions on the grid for Race 2.

Championship leader Mitch Evans could not make as much progress as the home drivers after sacrificing his grid position, only making it as far as tenth.

Race 1 results – 14 laps:

Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Nico Muller Jenzer Motorsport 30:40.239
2 Alexander Sims Status Grand Prix 2.814
3 Nick Yelloly Atech CRS GP 4.751
4 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Marussia Manor Racing 7.400
5 Luciano Bacheta RSC Mucke Motorsport 15.227
6 James Calado Lotus ART 18.644
7 Lewis Williamson MW Arden 19.315
8 Dean Smith Addax Team 24.705
9 Marlon Stockinger Atech CRS GP 27.352
10 Mitch Evans MW Arden 27.838
11 Rio Haryanto Marussia Manor Racing 29.706
12 Aaro Vainio Tech 1 Racing 30.351
13 Simon Trummer MW Arden 31.185
14 Maxim Zimin Jenzer Motorsport 34.789
15 Conor Daly Carlin 35.791
16 Vittorio Ghirelli Jenzer Motorsport 40.397
17 Valtteri Bottas Lotus ART 54.998
18 Leonardo Cordeiro Carlin 78.171
19 Ivan Lukashevich Status Grand Prix 80.044
20 Antonio Felix Da Costa Status Grand Prix 103.499
21 Thomas Hylkema Tech 1 Racing +1 lap
Ret Tom Dillmann Addax Team 11 laps
Ret Gabby Chaves Addax Team 11 laps
Ret Zoel Amberg Atech CRS GP 8 laps
Ret Pedro Nunes Lotus ART 3 laps
Ret Michael Christensen RSC Mucke Motorsport 1 lap
Ret Tamas Pal Kiss Tech 1 Racing 1 lap
Ret Nigel Melker RSC Mucke Motorsport 0 laps
Ret Matias Laine Marussia Manor Racing 0 laps
DNS Daniel Morad Carlin
1882 posts

About author
Peter joined the TCF team in September 2010 and covers GP2 and GP3 along with WTCC and Formula Two. You can find him on twitter at @PeteAllen_
Related posts
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Marco Andretti returns to the #98 for 2024 Indy 500

1 Mins read
IndyCar veteran Marco Andretti will attempt to qualify for the Indianapolis 500 this year the same way he has for the past three: as a one-off affair with Andretti Global’s (formerly Andretti Autosport) #98 car.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Gil de Ferran, 1967-2023

3 Mins read
Gil de Ferran, 2003 Indianapolis 500 winner and two-time CART series champion died on Friday at 56.
Formula 2Open WheelOther

Formula 2 Returns to The Temple of Speed to Race to the Top

2 Mins read
Formula 2 returns to Monza as fight for the place of the champion continues