GP3 SeriesOpen Wheel

Williamson Claims First GP3 Win In Silverstone Race 2

1 Mins read

Lewis Williamson took a comfortable maiden GP3 Series victory in the Sunday morning Race 2 at Silverstone. The MW Arden driver led home a British podium lockout with Dean Smith second and Alexander Sims third.

Williamson made a poor getaway from the front row and slipped to fourth off the line. He took second from Calado around the outside at The Loop and then took the lead of the race from polesitter Smith at Brooklands.

From there he gradually built up a comfortable lead of five seconds over the Addax driver to become the eighth different winner from as many races this season.

Sims completed the podium after moving up from seventh on the grid. He took third from James Calado two laps from the end. Calado was then passed by Rio Haryanto who finished fourth. Calado hung on to fifth ahead of Nick Yelloly, who scored the final point in sixth.

Adrian Quaife-Hobbs should have started fifth on the grid but stalled at the start of the warmup lap, meaning he had to start from the pits. He recovered to finish 15th, claiming the fastest lap in the process.

Sims has taken the championship lead from Mitch Evans, who retired from the race.

The next round takes place at the Nuburgring in support of the German Grand Prix on 23-24 July.

Race results – 14 laps:

Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Lewis Williamson MW Arden 26:51.435
2 Dean Smith Addax Team 5.090
3 Alexander Sims Status Grand Prix 7.202
4 Rio Haryanto Marussia Manor Racing 8.178
5 James Calado Lotus ART 11.238
6 Nick Yelloly Atech CRS GP 11.619
7 Conor Daly Carlin 12.080
8 Nigel Melker RSC Mucke Motorsport 13.051
9 Antonio Felix Da Costa Status Grand Prix 14.660
10 Simon Trummer MW Arden 20.947
11 Nico Muller Jenzer Motorsport 22.574
12 Valtteri Bottas Lotus ART 23.987
13 Michael Christensen RSC Mucke Motorsport 25.338
14 Gabby Chaves Addax Team 30.864
15 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Marussia Manor Racing 32.965
16 Zoel Amberg Atech CRS GP 35.349
17 Pedro Nunes Lotus ART 37.013
18 Aaro Vainio Tech 1 Racing 38.579
19 Luciano Bacheta RSC Mucke Motorsport 39.642
20 Tamas Pal Kiss Tech 1 Racing 41.457
21 Thomas Hylkema Tech 1 Racing 41.759
22 Vittorio Ghirelli Jenzer Motorsport 42.038
23 Leonardo Cordeiro Carlin 45.566
24 Ivan Lukashevich Status Grand Prix 49.993
25 Tom Dillmann Addax Team 13 laps
Ret Marlon Stockinger Atech CRS GP 8 laps
Ret Matias Laine Marussia Manor Racing 3 laps
Ret Mitch Evans MW Arden 0 laps
Related posts
Formula 2Open Wheel

Schumacher and Zhou score wins at the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 championship

4 Mins read
Mick Schumacher and Guanyu Zhou took home a win a piece in the Sochi round of the FIA Formula 2 Championship.
IndyCarOpen Wheel

Pagenaud: "It was a tough, dramatic weekend, but we prevailed"

3 Mins read
After the intimidating task of starting last in both Iowa IndyCar 250s, Simon Pagenaud and his team finished brilliantly with a win and a fourth place finish.
Formula 1Open Wheel

Sauber Motorsport Unveil New Academy Program

1 Mins read
Sauber Motorsport AG have announced a new academy program as well as it’s first four inductees, including the son of a two-time Formula 1 world champion.

Leave a Reply