Pole Claims Pole As Giermaziak Tops Rainy Qualifying At Spa

Kuba Giermaziak claimed his second Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup pole position in three races by topping a typically wet qualifying session at Spa-Francorchamps.

Series veteran Patrick Huisman was set for pole until the young Polish driver moved to the top of the timesheets just before a yellow flag at the end of the session.

“A huge thank you to my team,” said Verva driver Giermaziak. “They sent me out on the track at exactly the right moment. My lap wasn't particularly great, but luckily good enough for pole. We've again shown that we know how it works in rain and so of course I'm hoping for a rainy race tomorrow. But don't worry, we'll be quick even in dry conditions. If you start from the first row here in Spa and you avoid any major mistakes, nothing can really go wrong.”

Huisman had to settle for second place, but was still pleased with the result.

“I'm very pleased with second place,” said the Dutchman. “It was a good sign when it began to rain again before the session started because we were already fast on a wet track on Friday. At last I'm back on the front row. This is a great position to start the race.”

Points leader and winner at Spa last year, Sean Edwards, took third on the grid, more than a second behind Giermaziak but just ahead of compatriot Nick Tandy. The latter did well considering he could only manage one quick lap due to radiator problems.

“The yellow flag shortly before the end of the session ruined my chances of claiming pole position,” said Edwards. “That's a great shame, but not the end of the world. On this track you can win from the second grid row. And that's exactly what we will try to do.”

The third row of the grid will be shared by reigning champion Rene Rast and two-time champion Jeroen Bleekemolen. Christian Engelhardt and Stefan Rosina were next up, with Sebastiaan Bleekemolen and Kevin Estre rounding out the top ten.

Qualifying results:

Pos. Car No. Driver / Team Time Gap
1 10 Giermaziak, Kuba
VERVA Racing
2 18 Huisman, Patrick
Team Bleekemolen
2:42.783 + 0.250
3 16 Edwards, Sean
Team Abu Dhabi by tolimit
2:43.689 + 1.156
4 3 Tandy, Nick
Konrad Motorsport
2:43.773 + 1.240
5 1 Rast, René
Veltins Lechner Racing
2:43.845 + 1.312
6 15 Bleekemolen, Jeroen
Team Abu Dhabi by tolimit
2:43.963 + 1.430
7 9 Rosina, Stefan
VERVA Racing
2:44.000 + 1.467
8 4 Engelhart, Christian
Konrad Motorsport
2:44.026 + 1.493
9 17 Bleekemolen, Sebastiaan
Team Bleekemolen
2:44.178 + 1.645
10 12 Estre, Kévin
Hermes Attempto Racing
2:44.235 + 1.702
11 11 Lukas, Robert
Hermes Attempto Racing
2:44.448 + 1.915
12 19 Schothorst, Bas
Team Bleekemolen
2:44.912 + 2.379
13 8 Thiim, Nicki
SANITEC Aquiles MRS Team
2:44.939 + 2.406
14 2 Siedler, Norbert
Veltins Lechner Racing
2:45.073 + 2.540
15 6 Lauda, Mathias
Konrad Motorsport Austria
2:45.280 + 2.747
16 7 Langhorne, William
SANITEC Aquiles MRS Team
2:45.958 + 3.425
17 47 Tutumlu Lopez, Isaac
Hermes Attempto Racing
2:46.499 + 3.966
18 35 Passuti, Christian
Antonelli Motorsport
2:46.508 + 3.975
19 14 Al Qubaisi, Khaled
Team Abu Dhabi by tolimit
2:46.820 + 4.287
20 5 Mayerl, Andreas
Konrad Motorsport Austria
2:47.357 + 4.824
21 46 Scharmach, Peter
Lechner Racing
2:47.586 + 5.053
22 37 Slingerland, Oskar
Lechner Racing
2:49.589 + 7.056
23 36 Giondi, Massimo
Antonelli Motorsport
2:51.916 + 9.383