FIA World Rally Championship

Puncture For Loeb Hands Rallye Deutschland Lead To Ogier

2 Mins read

Sebastien Ogier leads Rallye Deutschland by over a minute after Citroen teammate Sebastien Loeb suffered a puncture on the final stage of the second day.

Loeb had maintained his lead over Ogier throughout the day, even though the younger Frenchman had closed to within 1.3 seconds of the lead on the first stage of the afternoon loop. He had been 3.8s in the lead going into the final test SS14, when he suffered the puncture which lost him 1m15.1s to Ogier.

Loeb has won all eight previous editions of the German round of the championship, and has also not been beaten on an all-asphalt event since 2004, when Markko Martin won in both Corsica and Catalunya.

Dani Sordo has moved up to third in his Mini, benefiting from a puncture suffered by Mikko Hirvonen on SS10. The Spaniard is a minute behind former teammate Loeb, and has remained 33s ahead of the Finnish Ford driver.

Kris Meeke, in the second factory Mini, and Citroen privateer Petter Solberg were fighting over fifth place during the morning loop. A trip off-road for Meeke on the first stage of the day put the Norwegian ahead, only for him to suffer a puncture on SS9 and drop behind again. Both suffered punctures on the repeat SS13, with just 9.1s separating the pair overnight.

Dennis Kuipers had moved up into an impressive seventh place ahead of Henning Solberg and Kimi Raikkonen during the morning, but he too suffered a puncture on the final stage of the day which saw him lose more than three minutes and fall to 11th, behind Raikkonen, Solberg, Armindo Araujo and Peter van Merksteijn Jr.

Jari-Matti Latvala had recovered to tenth after his engine problems on Friday, but crashed out on SS13.

Ott Tanak continues to lead S2000 in 13th overall, while Craig Breen overcame Yeray Lemes to win the WRC Academy class, ending Egon Kaur's run of three wins from three events in the category.

Top ten positions after SS14:

Pos No Driver Team Car Time/Gap
1. 2 Sebastien Ogier Citroen Total Citroen DS3 WRC 2:44:43.2
2. 1 Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total Citroen DS3 WRC +1:11.3
3. 37 Dani Sordo Mini Mini John Cooper Works WRC +2:10.2
4. 3 Mikko Hirvonen Ford Abu Dhabi Ford Fiesta RS WRC +2:43.3
5. 52 Kris Meeke Mini Mini John Cooper Works WRC +3:33.2
6. 11 Petter Solberg PSWRT Citroen DS3 WRC +3:42.3
7. 8 Kimi Raikkonen Ice 1 Citroen DS3 WRC +5:53.2
8. 15 Henning Solberg M-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC +5:59.4
9. 17 Armindo Araujo Motorsport Italia Mini John Cooper Works WRC +7:51.6
10. 14 Peter van Merksteijn Jr. Van Merksteijn Citroen DS3 WRC +8:25.9
Related posts
FIA World Rally Championship

WRC using Sustainable Fuels for 2022

2 Mins read
It is all change for the World Rally Championship in 2022. Not only is the series receiving brand-new hybrid power units, but it has…
FIA World Rally Championship

Neuville & Tänak extend Hyundai partnership

2 Mins read
The near future is set for Hyundai Motorsports WRC, as Thierry Neuville and Ott Tänak sign multi-year contracts with the manufacturer.
FIA World Rally Championship

Josh McErlean to compete in the WRC at Vodafone Rally de Portugal

3 Mins read
For any developing Rally Driver, World Rally Championship experience is vital. For Motorsport Ireland Rally Academy team member Josh McErlean, his next slice of WRC action will…

Leave a Reply