2012 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award Launched

Nominations have been opened for the 2012 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

The annual award aims to find Britain’s most promising young single-seater driver, with former winners including Dario Franchitti (1992), Jenson Button (1998), Paul Di Resta (2004) and Oliver Rowland (2011).

To be eligible, a driver has to be between the ages of 16 and 22 on January 1st 2012, have been born in the UK or hold a British passport and have competed in a single-seater championship up to and including British F3 National Class (or European equivalent) and not in any higher category in the current calendar year.

To nominate a driver, email autosport.editorial@haymarket.com with your vote, with ‘nominations’ in the subject line. People can only vote once, with nominations closing at midday on Thursday 20th September.

The nominees will be announced in early October, with the 2012 winner receiving £100,000, a McLaren F1 test and a TW Steel watch.


Possible nominees from 2012 include:

Jake Cook – Formula Ford GB race-winner.

Jake Dennis – Current Formula Renault NEC championship leader.

Jack Hawksworth – 2012 Star Mazda Champion.

Josh Hill – Formula Renault NEC race-winner.

Jordan King – 2nd in the Formula Renault NEC standings.

Matthew Mason – Intersteps race-winner.

Seb Morris – Formula Renault BARC race-winner.

Matthew Parry – Current Intersteps championship leader.

Josh Webster – 2nd in the Formula Renault BARC standings.

Dan Wells – Formula Pilota China race-winner.