Jaafar Wins As Lynn Misses Out On Maiden Victory

Alex Lynn was unlucky at Silverstone after having his maiden win taken away from him after stewards imposed a post-race penalty handing the victory to Jazeman Jaafar.

Starting from pole position Lynn was judged to have jumped the start after creeping forward before the lights went out, Championship leader Jack Harvey also suffered the same fate with both drivers having 30 seconds added to their race finish times.

On the opening lap of the race Reigning Formula Renault UK champion Lynn beat Jaafar into the thirst corner and by the end of the first lap had built up a lead of 1.4 seconds. Jaafar would be unable to match Lynn’s pace throughout the race and would finish 10 seconds behind as the race came to a close.

“My pace was really good,” said Lynn on the podium. “It feels good finally to win my first race but also a bit weird because I’ve run it through in my head so many times. When you finally do it, it seems a bit of an anti-climax.”

Unfortunately the anti-climax was the post-race penalty which would drop him off the podium and down to fourth place.

With Lynn demoted this moved Jaafar up to take the victory and on doing so boosting his championship hopes.

Carlos Sainz and Jack Harvey battled it out for third place on track after the Spaniard lost out to his British team-mate on the opening lap. The two fought it out with Harvey getting the upper hand on the final corner.

“We were fighting the whole race,” said Harvey. “On the final lap I dived to the inside into Brooklands and managed to get a good exit; he went quite high and slowish into Luffield and I just managed to drive around the outside of him.”

Harvey’s post-race penalty would drop him to eighth place promoting Sainz to second while Harry Tincknell took third.

Championship challenger Felix Serralles suffered a blow when he stalled on the startling leaving the points very close with Harvey hanging on to a very narrow three-point lead.

Pieter Fantin benefited from the penalties and would be classed fifth with Rupert Svendsen-Cook taking sixth on his return.

Pipe Derani suffered a drive-through penalty after it was judged his pit-crew took too long to clear the grid. He would come home ninth in the end with the added benefit of gaining the reverse grid pole for the next round.

Drama elsewhere on the grid cam courtesy of Hannes van Asseldonk who retired with engine trouble and on the final lap when Geoff Uhrhane and Nick McBridge tangled on the last lap while fighting over eighth place.

Spike Goddard took victory in the National class ahead of team-mate Pedro Pablo Calbimonte.