Open Wheel

Dennis Wins McLaren Autosport BRDC Award

1 Mins read

Jake Dennis has been named as the 2012 winner of the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

Dennis, who won the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup this season, fended off competition from fellow young stars Josh Hill, Jordan King, Melville McKee, Jack Hawksworth and Josh Webster to become the 24th winner in the awards history.

Dennis joins a list of former winners including Dario Franchitti (1992), Jenson Button (1998), Paul Di Resta (2004) and Oliver Rowland (2011) after impressing the judging panel during two shootout days at Silverstone in November, the 17 year old having been tested in Formula Two, Mercedes DTM and McLaren GT3 machinery.

Dennis’ prize fund consists of £100,000, full membership of the British Racing Drivers’ Club, a TW Steel watch and a test in a McLaren Mercedes Formula 1 car.

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
F4 British ChampionshipOpen Wheel

Alex Dunne signs with Hitech GP for 2022 British F4 Campaign

1 Mins read
Alex Dunne joins Hitech GP as the final driver for the 2022 British F4 season.
F4 British ChampionshipOpen Wheel

Joel Pearson returns to racing with Chris Dittmann Racing in the British F4 championship

1 Mins read
After the 16 year olds battle with bone cancer, Joel Pearson returns to racing with Chris Dittmann Racing for the ROKiT British F4 championship
GB4Open WheelOther

Nikolas Taylor wins season opening GB4 race at Snetterton

3 Mins read
Nikolas Taylor claims victory at the GB4 season opening race at Snetterton